You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 2nd, 2013, 01:14 AM   #1
moeen
Member
Australia

moeen is offline
 
moeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 29
Smile Schneider Unity Pro v7 Simulator Halt

Hi Guys

I've been given a code that I have to use to simulate a process. Unfortunately it causes the Unity pro inbuilt simulator to go into halt mode. Sometimes it happens as soon as I start the simulator, other times it halts after few seconds.
Running: Unity Pro V7 on windows 7
Status bits:
%S18 is set (Arithmetic error).
%SW125 is 16#DEF2 (Arithmetic error).
%SW126 (ERROR ADDRESS 0) is 16#B9BC.
%SW127 (ERROR ADDRESS 1) is also 16#773D.


The manual says the last two words should contain the instruction address. However I've no idea how to locate a particular instruction using this kind of address.

Many thanks for your help.
Regards,
Moeen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Unity_error1.jpg (31.9 KB, 79 views)

Last edited by moeen; October 2nd, 2013 at 01:56 AM. Reason: attached picture.
  Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2013, 04:47 AM   #2
Brendonh
Member
South Africa

Brendonh is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 86
i also have no idea how those last two system words translate to anything useful.

but i would almost bet my house that somewhere the logic is dividing by zero. (can happen with the sim, because everything will be 0 where it wouldnt necassarily be in a real world app.)

%s18 is more specifically defined as Capacity overrun, error on a floating point or division by 0.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2014, 11:21 PM   #3
Matthew Milne
Member
New Zealand

Matthew Milne is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Timaru
Posts: 3
I have used Unity extensively from version 2.1 onwards, and have found the simulator to be pretty solid - until Unity 7 on Windows 7. But it seems it is just my PC. I have experienced the exact problem you describe on my PC, but if I run the same program on one of my colleagues PCs, the simulator runs fine without halting. I tracked the culprite to a div/0 which it normally handles with just a "INF", but on my PC (and mine alone) it halts.

Strangely, my simulator also halts when the screen saver comes on - the reason for which I am unable to identify.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2014, 12:49 AM   #4
moeen
Member
Australia

moeen is offline
 
moeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 29
Unity 7 is not certified on win 7. So try to avoid using this setup. But one thing I know is that Windows 7 air themes can cause unity to halt. Just disable the screen saver and use a basic windows theme, it should fix one of the problems.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2014, 02:21 AM   #5
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 912
What plc are you using?
  Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2014, 03:30 AM   #6
GeoffC
Member
Australia

GeoffC is offline
 
GeoffC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 683
I am sure Unity 7 is certified for use on Windows 7, both 32 and 64 bit.
The problem with the simulator will go away if you turn off Aero in windows
__________________
Geoff C
______________________________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Schneider Unity Pro - DFB / DDT / Arrays majorv LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 February 16th, 2015 05:12 PM
Schneider Unity Pro to Send Emails: meghnesh LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 8th, 2012 01:50 AM
Red Lion Crimson 3.0 - Communicating with Schneider PLC (unity PRO XL software) Yna LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 July 31st, 2012 12:35 AM
Difference between A/B One-Shot instructions and Unity Pro |P| Positive Transition? sanger LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 January 22nd, 2012 05:31 AM
Schneider - Unity Pro - Citect etc BobB LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 January 15th, 2010 03:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


.