You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 10th, 2019, 06:53 PM   #1
passwordg
Member
United States

passwordg is offline
 
passwordg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 186
Absolute cheapest Remote IO ?

What are some reliable but low cost options for an ethernetIP based remote IO you can get ?

I need a few to communicate with a Rockwell contrologix PLC over ethernet.
__________________
- Jim
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 07:29 PM   #2
Ken Roach
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Ken Roach is offline
 
Ken Roach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 15,116
Quote:
reliable but low cost
Pick one, and consider ease of use unless you're deploying more than 100 units.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 08:21 PM   #3
matthew1
Member
United States

matthew1 is offline
 
matthew1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: virginia
Posts: 86
Cheapest iv found are Acromag XT series. Used a few XT1112-000 to read noncritical inputs last year. 16 in module less than 400USD. You will need to buy a 115 programming cable, it's not required. The cable is a USB isolator. https://www.acromag.com/shop/signal-...t-i-o-modules/
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 08:37 PM   #4
jstolaruk
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

jstolaruk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, SE Michigan
Posts: 3,503
Balluffs BNI EIP family - one module and then you can extend a bunch of IO-Link modules to it.
__________________
"You can live to be a hundred if you give up all the things that make you want to live to be a hundred." Woody Allen
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 09:10 PM   #5
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,395
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...ts/c0-11dd1e-d

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcWb...ture=emb_title
__________________
You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice. If you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2019, 10:10 PM   #6
Jeev
Member
Australia

Jeev is offline
 
Jeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 541

I was going to say something about Wago, but this is way cheaper and more powerful. Good to know!
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 04:39 AM   #7
rdrast
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rdrast is offline
 
rdrast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: South Carolina Lowcountry
Posts: 5,427



Wow... I use a LOT of Remote IO, but have always used Point in the past... I think this is going to be my new solution where I don't need actual Safety IO. Heck, even if I do, it might be better just to go with the safety brick, and this for IO.
__________________
------------------------------------
How to ask questions the SMART Way!

Look First, Ask Second!

  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 04:53 AM   #8
Chris Taylor
Lifetime Supporting Member
England

Chris Taylor is offline
 
Chris Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Canterbury
Posts: 225
I use the Moxa ioLogik E1200 range, supports Modbus and EtherNetI/P


https://www.moxa.com/en/products/ind...k-e1200-series


simple to use and set up.
__________________
www.BIJC.co.uk
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 06:19 AM   #9
LadderLogic
Member
United States

LadderLogic is offline
 
LadderLogic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Chicagolandia
Posts: 1,349
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrast View Post
Wow... I use a LOT of Remote IO, but have always used Point in the past...
There is a huge world outside of planet Rockwell, you know

PS Check out Beckhoff EIP coupler and terminals.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg EK9500__web.jpg (58.7 KB, 251 views)
__________________
Don't trust, don't fear, don't beg...
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 07:16 AM   #10
busarider29
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

busarider29 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by LadderLogic View Post
There is a huge world outside of planet Rockwell, you know

PS Check out Beckhoff EIP coupler and terminals.
That is what I'm currently integrating with an AB machine right now. And I certainly agree......there's a whole lot more outside Rockwell and a helluva lot cheaper with equal or better performance.

Last edited by busarider29; December 11th, 2019 at 07:18 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 08:21 AM   #11
Rson
Member
United States

Rson is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 258
The best IMO is Murrelektronik. I think at one point I could buy a bus node for ~$300 with 8 inputs, and add 32 more for another $150.

They have both Cube20 (inside a panel) and Cube 67 (outside the panel) versions.

If you just need a few I/O, the Turck blocks are pretty decent
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 08:58 AM   #12
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,106
That Ethernet/IP busmodule from AD sure looks a lot like the similar type from Beckhoff:
https://www.automationdirect.com/adc...uplers/px-eip1
https://beckhoff.de/german/bus_termi...01539111686240

Apart from that, any remote i/o that uses cage-clamp terminals get a from me.
Push-in terminals are becoming the new standard, and I just hate them
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 09:45 AM   #13
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 6,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by OkiePC View Post
+1

Paul you linked to the c0-11dd1e-d (156.00), the C0-10DD1E-D is even cheaper (135.00) and if you need analog the C0-12DD1E-D is 187.00

The one you link is a standard ethernet, the one I did was a basic ethernet, not sure of they both will do the job, I did not find what the difference is
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 10:07 AM   #14
OkiePC
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

OkiePC is offline
 
OkiePC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: ENE of Nowhere Oklahoma
Posts: 10,395
I think the Basic Ethernet does not include a backup battery for program data. This might not matter if it is configured as an Ethernet adapter, but I have always gone with the Standard Ethernet Clicks (with battery) when we have used them. I personally have not set one up as an Ethernet adapter yet.
__________________
You can choose a ready guide in some celestial voice. If you choose not to decide you still have made a choice.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2019, 10:25 AM   #15
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 14,106
The OP asked for Ethernet/IP remote i/o. Granted he said "ethernet" but since it is "for a ControlLogix" he must mean Ethernet/IP.
These AD c0 PLCs are PLCs not remote i/o.
They specs says about Ethernet/IP:
Quote:
EtherNet/IP explicit messaging adapter
EtherNet/IP implicit messaging adapter
Does that mean they can be operated as remote i/o for an Ethernet/IP controller ?
__________________
Jesper
See my profile interests for Q&A
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote IO Solution for Micrologix Platform MorphuisOGrady LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 14 January 27th, 2012 02:25 PM
BTR for data and status of 1746 NR8 over Remote IO jograzn2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 November 18th, 2011 02:56 PM
TI 505 remote IO and S7300 CPU - Analog values avasiena LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 October 22nd, 2009 09:27 PM
Interfacing Moeller XI/ON Remote IO Modules with Siemens S7CPU315-2DP hfu LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 October 13th, 2006 02:52 AM
SLC 5/05 To Remote IO K.C. LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 March 10th, 2003 03:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.


.