You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 19th, 2019, 07:49 PM   #1
h_vemulapalli@crownp
Member
United States

h_vemulapalli@crownp is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
Analog proportional regulator

hello,

I am trying to connect the analog proportional regulator from Festo (VPPM-6L-L-1-G18-0L6H-A4P-S1) to automation direct analog output module F2-4DA2AD which is a current sinking module.

festo didn't specify if the input signal supposed to a sink or source signal. i have attached both the output module and valve wiring diagram.

can some one help me with this ?

appreciate the help!
Attached Images
File Type: png output_module.PNG (76.9 KB, 21 views)
File Type: png valve.PNG (18.9 KB, 19 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 03:29 AM   #2
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,112
I'm not too familiar with the Automation direct PLC but if I was going to connect then the bottom leg (+) would go to the + of the 4-20 signal of the valve and the -v would go to the card output (top leg). Do not ground either leg only the screen of the cable, if you look at the analogue input it is configured the same way but is marked up as + bottom leg, providing the potential is correct way round then it should work ok, I have seen many people wire sensors of many types in the wrong way round and as far as I can remember this has never caused any damage.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 07:11 AM   #3
danw
Member
United States

danw is offline
 
danw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: midwest, USA
Posts: 2,950
The Festo analog input just wants to see a current signal. It doesn't know whether the current is provided from an active (sourcing) or a passive (sinking) analog output.

But the Automation Direct Analog Output is a passive/sinking analog output that requires a DC power supply (p/s, typically 24Vdc) to provide power to the output loop.

DC p/s (+) wires to Festo (+) Terminal 4

Festo (-) terminal 3 wires to the A-D OUT1+ or the A-D OUT2+ terminal, depending on which analog output is to be used.

DC p/s (-) wires to A-D 0VDC terminal (at the top)

The Festo's DC power supply has to be at the same ground potential as the A-D because the A-D module is single ended/common grounded.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 07:17 AM   #4
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 1,112
danw is right, I now realise that the supply is external and not sourced from the card so is passive
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 09:55 AM   #5
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,831
Before wiring the system as stated i would check to make sure pin 3 and pin 7 on the Festo are not common to each other. I'm not fully convinced that the input is isolated. At least the Festo document I looked at doesn't directly state that it is.

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 11:07 AM   #6
h_vemulapalli@crownp
Member
United States

h_vemulapalli@crownp is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2
thanks everyone who responded. appreciate it.

I wired exactly as danw mentioned, i did not check the current output from the module but valve did not respond and i can see there is 25 % of full scale in the PLC program.

I was using a voltage (0-10V) proportional controller before with the converter in the middle which is working, i used this to test the loop current flow.

operating manual says that it is a differential input set point to the valve, correct me if i am wrong but in this case we need to connect - Ve of the setpoint which is 3 to the 0V of the DC p/s right ?

I will check that kamenges, probably it is.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2019, 12:50 PM   #7
kamenges
Member
United States

kamenges is offline
 
kamenges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Brillion, WI
Posts: 3,831
The differential input thing would apply more to voltage than to current. But if they maintained the design philosophy between the voltage and current input models then the current input should be isolated. This would mean that 3 IS NOT internally connected to 7 and that danw's connection description is correct.

Do you have an independent way to determine if the correct current is being delivered from the output module, like a meter?

Keith
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog Instructions or Methods to Control Proportional Hydraulic Valve thinksabunch LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 August 7th, 2013 02:26 PM
analog trim of AC drive line speed irondesk40 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 24th, 2013 07:03 AM
Current analog module theripley LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 22nd, 2010 07:39 AM
ML1100 analog input help kbradray LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 December 11th, 2007 05:13 PM
analog input SIMATIC S7-200, EM235 sarac LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 26th, 2006 03:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


.