Teaching AB PLC myself and ask your tips

kohhm75

Hi,
I am a college student on industrial instrumentation program.
Learned Schneider PLC programming at school and trying to extend it to Allen Bradley which is the most prevalent one to my understanding.

Having managed to set my own little free system with RSLogix 500 and Advanced HMI, I would appreciate your tips on following questions:

1. RSLogix 500 vs 5000
Is the 500 a viable way to teach myself? Asking because it seems obsolete and 5000 is the most common..

2. RSLogix 500 Programming Examples
I wanted to study as many examples and understand the logics and functions. Where could I get them from? is there a book with such contents?

Thanks in advance.

I believe that starting with RS500 is a great way to learn Rockwell Allen Bradley PLC's. RS5000 has many similarities, so the transition isn't too hard.
What I/O do you have on your system?

I believe that starting with RS500 is a great way to learn Rockwell Allen Bradley PLC's. RS5000 has many similarities, so the transition isn't too hard.
What I/O do you have on your system?

Hi, thanks. I do not have any physical module and relying on emulator and advancedHMI to simulate I/O's.

+1 maxkling, learning pit, logixpro rs500 based and PLCLogix rs5000 based, is the best PLC learning software with animation, its fantastic and worth the cost.
There is plenty of codes to download on this site, look at the top tool bar. Anything from lance01(Mr 10,000 poster himself) is a great example of how to code.

Last edited:
Hi, thanks. I do not have any physical module and relying on emulator and advancedHMI to simulate I/O's.

I got a MicroLogix 1100 on eBay for $125. They are usually Buy It Now for 200-300USD, but you can make an offer, and sometimes you will get it.

drbitboy, was that the $125 brick?

Nope, that one worked. The $75 purchase was the brick, and the eBay process worked and I got my money back.