New to PLC's

BrianMDowns

Hello everyone! As the headline suggests, I'm new to PLC programming. Been in maintenance around 12 years, so obviously I've been around them. But have never had a hand in programming one or anything. So my question is this: "What is the cheapest way to start the road to PLC programming?" I've been looking at the Click PLc's via Automation Direct, but I'm not sure if that's the best and cheapest place to start. With 3 young children, cost is a factor. :)

Thank you all in advance for the suggestions.

....but I'm not sure if that's the best and cheapest place to start. .

Welcome to the world of PLC programming

Well having both would be hard and its up to the end user if they have the best, you will find many, many different opinions

The Click is a very good one (I think) but if I were you, I would look at what systems you have at the place where you work, if you have all Siemens or AB then I would try and go with one of them

For the cheapest... find a platform that has free software, Click, Allen Bradley (MicroLogix 1000 and 1100) and Micro800 series, others also offer demo software that will work great just for learning

We sell PLC trainers and training material www.plccable.com and our prices are good, another good cheap is ebay and find used parts

So you have a few options...

Best of luck with your new adventure!

http://accautomation.ca/programming/plc-beginners-guide/

The above link will take you through learning the basics of PLC programming. I would look over the information and start at a spot that you feel that you require more information.
The Click is a good PLC but I would recommend the Do More Series from Automation Direct. The software Do-More Designer is a free programming package that also incorporates a simulator. This way you can program and test, just like you have a PLC sitting on your desk.
Information is free, but the drive to learn and grow is up to you.

Regards,