How to Advance PLC Programming Skills

dskplc

Hello,

I have some skills as a PLC programmer but I need to learn how to program more complex processes. Does anyone have any suggestions how to keep building on basic knowledge if my job doesn't give me any projects? I am trying to learn on my own. I have been through some online tutorials but looking for more advanced programming projects. Thank you.

What I do is to create my own project that requires something I don't know how to do. Currently I'm working on how to add and control a device using DeviceNet. I've never done it before, and it is proving to be a bit of a challenge. Once I get DeviceNet sorted out, I'll move on to very basic motion programming, and then more complex gearing and camming. I have done the same thing for analog I/O, and comms between SLC and 5K processors. It makes it more likely that I'll get a chance to work on a project that requires those skills since I have at least a basic understanding of what is involved. Bottom line is I don't wait for the boss to give me a project that requires those skills, rather I create my own virtual project that builds my skills where I know I'm weak and I can tinker with it when time allows. If you need an idea for something specific, I'm sure someone here can offer an idea or two that will help you learn specific skills.

Will.

Last edited:
I dont know your background but I would say study up on the physical processes, how is the way a mixing, temperature, or rotational device control requirements differ, for example. There are different levels of "advanced"...high speed where scan cycles and efficiency matter, complex sequencing, interfacing with a device that doesn't speak a standard protoc0l out of the box,...pick your poison.