Panasonic FPO motion control

matthew1

Hello all!

I hit the jackpot on this one. I work fifty hours a week but I'm a full time student. :)

Here is what I have thought I would share the whole story. We are clearing out the "storage warehouse" at work. There is a machine that had a length cutting servo control on it that got the Axe some years ago. The decision is made to throw it away (Management). My knowledge on motion control and steppers in general is limited so I see a great opportunity for learning.

I could not take the entire machine I figured the control box and mechanical drive assembly with motor would be more than enough. Unfortunately after I got the control box off and put it in my car the mechanics had thrown the rest of the machine in the dumpster with drive assembly and stepper attached. (no diving either auto term!)

Now I need to find another stepper motor to use with the system.

Here is my hardware.

Panasonic FPO-T32C Transistor output

Panasonic GT32 Touchscreen(very neat bridging to PLC via USB)

Vexta 5-phase driver P/N RKD514H-A (120volt input and PDF below) (Oriental motors)

I have the software for the panasonic HW (freeware versions)

Now I'm only lacking a motor and drive system.

The drive system is not a problem. The mechanics at work will make something for me once I get a motor and know the shaft type.

SO back to the issue I need to find a 5 phase open loop stepper motor that will work with the Vexta motion amplifier. Ohh and on a budget. On the Vexta site there are several motors listed for several hundred to over a thousand. Cant afford it. :oops:

The manufacturer's site lists everything by series. ex. RK drives are grouped with RK motors. I have not been able to find and RK series motors available through any second hand discount sources. Did find some PK series motors on ebay. http://http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vext...577?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item35ae4591c9