You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 20th, 2016, 01:00 AM   #1
lonely88
Member
Israel

lonely88 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: haifa
Posts: 8
delay starting of 7 motors

hello
i am new to this field of plc programing i got an intresting program which i cant crack.i will be very happy if someone could help.

i have 7 motors,when the user activates any first motor of the sevens no matter which one it starts right away.if the user start any more than one motor there will be delay of 5 seconds between every motor start.
the system most remember the starting sequense that was asked.

i only can use ladder for that project.any ideas how to solve this problem?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 02:43 AM   #2
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,633
whenever a motor is started, disable the inputs for 5 seconds, to prevent starting a motor.

for the sequence you will need an array, if a motor is started and the array[0] is 0 then array[0] is number of motor) if array is filled add index and try again.
you will need a few more buttons to autostart sequence, and to erase sequence, apart from the stop button.
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 08:05 AM   #3
lonely88
Member
Israel

lonely88 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: haifa
Posts: 8
and if i dont have any other buttons and i wanna do it?
is there any way?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 08:35 AM   #4
lonely88
Member
Israel

lonely88 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: haifa
Posts: 8
my main problem is creating the array with the ladder i created something using memory bit but i can get it to do a loop and scan each time which motor needs to work now.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 08:40 AM   #5
Doug-P
Member
United States

Doug-P is offline
 
Doug-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 1,243
A thousand miles can be so many ways. Just to know who is driving, what a help it would be.

Which PLC is being used?
__________________
Let's eat Grandma!

Let's eat, Grandma!

Words are very important, but punctuation saves lives...
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 09:41 AM   #6
lonely88
Member
Israel

lonely88 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: haifa
Posts: 8
I am using easy 806 by eaton using smartwire.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 12:30 PM   #7
nhatsen
Member
Venezuela

nhatsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by lonely88 View Post
... the system most remember the starting sequense that was asked.
How and when do you set the starting sequence?
__________________
"If you can't solve a problem, then there is an easier problem you can solve: find it." (George Pólya)
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 12:46 PM   #8
lonely88
Member
Israel

lonely88 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: haifa
Posts: 8
The buttons pushed by the user on start of the work day the sequence only matter for the engine start so there will be no more than one engine starting so there will be no waytwo engines starting at once.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 01:04 PM   #9
Pete.S.
Member
United States

Pete.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Fl
Posts: 457
You need one timer for each motor, an on-delay.
We'll call the timers for the motors, on_delay1, on_delay2 etc.

Then you need one timer that counts down to zero. It doesn't control anything with it's output, it's just to keep track of time.
We'll call that down_counter.

You'll manipulate the start of the motors by manipulating the delay times on the on-delay timers.

Example user wants to start motor 4.
You take the actual value of the down_counter and put it in on_delay4.
You then add 5 seconds to the down_counter.

For the first motor down_counter will have counted down to zero. So the on_delay will be set to zero, which will make the motor start immediately.

The down_counter counts down 5,4,3..and then the users starts another motor, say motor 7. We do the same thing.
Down_counter is 3 so on_delay7 is set to 3. We add 5 to down_counter and get 3+5=8.

Let's say the user immediately starts motor 1 as well.
We do the same thing.
Down_counter is 8 so on_delay1 is set to 8. We add 5 to down_counter and get 8+5=13.

And so on and so forth....

Write it down in a spreadsheet so you'll understand how it works and what happens as time passes by.

It will also work perfectly if one motor is stopped and then restarted again while others are also starting up.

Easy to expand as well since it's not depending on how many motors you have.

And the motors will automatically start in the order they triggered by the operator.

If you have some motor that is bigger and you want to delay other motors for more than 5 seconds you just add more than 5 seconds to the down_timer when that motor is started.

.

Last edited by Pete.S.; June 20th, 2016 at 01:23 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 01:13 PM   #10
Doug-P
Member
United States

Doug-P is offline
 
Doug-P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 1,243
Never used this device but it looks like the TABLE function would suit your purpose.
__________________
Let's eat Grandma!

Let's eat, Grandma!

Words are very important, but punctuation saves lives...
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 02:01 PM   #11
lonely88
Member
Israel

lonely88 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: haifa
Posts: 8
i never worked with tables so i dont really get how they work i though of using one of them but i didnt found any good tutoral on how to use it..
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 03:17 PM   #12
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,484
I would follow what Pete.S. said to do with the program. It would be easy to implement.
I tried it out with the Do-More Simulator and it works well.

Regards,
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Motor Sequencing.jpg (41.8 KB, 173 views)
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2016, 04:10 PM   #13
Pete.S.
Member
United States

Pete.S. is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Fl
Posts: 457
Great work Garry!

I never tried the Do-More simulator.

Is it part of the free Do-More programming software? http://support.automationdirect.com/...ts/domore.html

Would it be possible for you to post the project you just made (attached zip file) so I can play with it?

Thanks,
Pete
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2016, 06:55 AM   #14
twocozz
Member
United Kingdom

twocozz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Doncaster
Posts: 70
Well I have done this lots of times but I must say the solution from Pete.S knocks mine out of the water. So simple, so elegant - just love it - cheers
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2016, 07:59 AM   #15
gclshortt
Member
Canada

gclshortt is offline
 
gclshortt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cobourg
Posts: 2,484
Hi Pete,
Yes, this is the free Do-More Designer Software.
http://support.automationdirect.com/...ts/domore.html

Attached is the program as requested.
You will notice that this has been modified because if the motors are all on and the power to the PLC is disrupted, the outputs will all be switched on again at the same time.
This will also happen if the PLC is stitched from Stop to Run mode.

If this happens the motors will turn on in number sequence if there switch is on, at 5 second intervals.

Regards,
Attached Files
File Type: zip Motor Start Sequencer.zip (9.3 KB, 30 views)
__________________
Garry
http://www.accautomation.ca
Connect with us on Facebook: facebook.com/accautomation/
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dl 205 260 on delay timmer ? mkeigwin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 September 16th, 2013 04:49 PM
Two motors on one drive or separate drive for two motors Plc_User LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 12 February 12th, 2013 08:33 AM
One VFD two motors leitmotif LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 31 August 15th, 2011 03:31 AM
Dc motors types of compound leitmotif LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 September 16th, 2010 12:12 PM
Motors! Motors! Motors! (Topic 3 of 3) akreel LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 February 11th, 2003 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


.