You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 9th, 2018, 02:04 PM   #1
sabledanny
Member
Malaysia

sabledanny is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 6
cp1h-y20dt-d Pulse/Dir Pulse Wiring to Servo Contoller

Hello,

I have a cp1h-y20dt-d (sinking output) plc supposedly to be wired to a servo controller. The pulse control method is Pulse/Direction. I've did some manual research on the PLC and found the following diagram:

Untitled.jpg

Since the diagram above doesnt show which terminals does it connect to in the CP1H side circled red, I want to ask if those connections belong to the following diagram?

Untitled1.jpg

If so, assuming im planning to use only Pulse Output1 (Pulse/Direction method) from the PLC side, is the connection from the first diagram no.1=CCW0- , no.2=CCW1- , no.3=COM (connected to -ve)

*Note: these diagrams are from omron's manual SYSMAC CP Series CP1H-X40D_-_ CP1H-XA40D_-_ CP1H-Y20DT-D CP1H CPU Unit

Your replies would greatly help.

Thanks and best regards,
Danny
  Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2018, 02:40 PM   #2
gtsuport
Member
United States

gtsuport is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 1,098
Welcome to the forum.

You are correct.

I was not sure about the hardware side for CW/CCW or Pulse/Direction but that is set in either the PULS or PLS2 instruction.

Best of luck on your project.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 01:39 PM   #3
BITS N BYTES
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

BITS N BYTES is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 385
For PULSE output 0 using PULSE plus DIRECTION configuration you connect CW0+ [Pulse] to the pulse input of your servo and CW1+ [Direction] to the direction input of your servo. Then connect COM[-] to both CW0- and CW1- terminals.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 01:42 PM   #4
sabledanny
Member
Malaysia

sabledanny is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtsuport View Post
Welcome to the forum.

You are correct.

I was not sure about the hardware side for CW/CCW or Pulse/Direction but that is set in either the PULS or PLS2 instruction.

Best of luck on your project.
For the 2nd diagram, what is the difference between a Special Pulse Output (00 to 03) and a Normal pulse output (04-07)?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 02:06 PM   #5
BITS N BYTES
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

BITS N BYTES is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 385
Pulse/Direction outputs 0 and 1 are Line Driver Outputs rated up to 1MHz.
Pulse/Direction outputs 2 and 3 are Sinking Outputs rated up to 1kHz.
If pulse/direction 2 and 3 are NOT configured in the PLC Setup then they may be used as "Normal" ON/OFF outputs in the program.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 02:15 PM   #6
sabledanny
Member
Malaysia

sabledanny is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by BITS N BYTES View Post
Pulse/Direction outputs 0 and 1 are Line Driver Outputs rated up to 1MHz.
Pulse/Direction outputs 2 and 3 are Sinking Outputs rated up to 1kHz.
If pulse/direction 2 and 3 are NOT configured in the PLC Setup then they may be used as "Normal" ON/OFF outputs in the program.
For Outputs 0 and 1 (Line Driver Outputs), I noticed there is no COM to connect for a sinking output, if it were to be connected to a servo controller, it should be a direct connection? As in:

CCW0+ --- PULSE+ (SERVO CONTROLLER)
CCW0- --- PULSE-
CCW1+ --- DIR+
CCW1- --- DIR-

*Note: on the servo controller side there's only these mentioned 4 terminals (pulse+/- and dir+/-)

Is this connection correct?
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 02:57 PM   #7
BITS N BYTES
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

BITS N BYTES is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 385
Using Line Driver pulse outputs 0 and/or 1 or Sinking pulse outputs 2 and/or 3 is completely dependent on the pulse input specifications of your servo controller.
You don't specify the manufacturer/model # of the servo you intend to use so it's hard to recommend which ones you should use.
May also be worth checking with OMRON whether the Line Driver pulse outputs will work in a sinking mode. You can always test this out if you have the physical hardware available.

Last edited by BITS N BYTES; February 10th, 2018 at 03:00 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 03:05 PM   #8
sabledanny
Member
Malaysia

sabledanny is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by BITS N BYTES View Post
Using Line Driver pulse outputs 0 and/or 1 or Sinking pulse outputs 2 and/or 3 is completely dependent on the pulse input specifications of your servo controller.
I see. Based on my servo's manual, the image of the internal circuit shows an open collector type input. Isit possible to link Line Driver Output to an open collector pulse input? Image below shows the open collector type input:

Untitled.png
  Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2018, 04:48 PM   #9
BITS N BYTES
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

BITS N BYTES is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 385
That all depends on your servo model input specifications.
AGAIN you haven't specified the servo model so Contact your servo supplier for more specific info.
If I were doing this I would just hookup the physical components and test if it works.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pulse Input Wiring coopdegrace LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 16th, 2016 11:10 PM
How to do wiring for pulse transmitter to L24ER-QBFC1B rockwell plc Nithinskaria LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 November 28th, 2015 02:29 AM
FP-X pulse output and A4 series servo modbus address yee4228 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 December 8th, 2013 06:05 AM
How to give negative pulse to servo motor? sankz LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 March 6th, 2010 01:38 PM
Servo Motor Y-1002-1-H00AA Encoder to Ultra3000i wiring. yam785 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 January 9th, 2008 07:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:02 AM.


.