You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 5th, 2002, 01:40 PM   #1
rsdoran
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rsdoran is offline
 
rsdoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 7,372
AutoMax DCS version 2.1 software

This is the first AutoMax DCS system I have dealt with, the system is less than 2 yrs old but the software etc is all dos based.

First I am trying to understand how the DCS works. This has a 7010 Processor and is using an AB RIO scanner card to connect to Maxitron DC Drives and a SLC 10 slot rack and a digital interface.

This is the part that has me slightly confused, is the SLC rack just a Remote I/O rack with no processor? Is that how this is done normally? ie the DCS has the only processor?

I dont have any manuals for the Automax Programming software (version 2.1g) so havent exactly figured out how it works either. From what I can tell the DCS can have multiple tasks/programs/files running for various processes..ie a ladder file for the digital I/O, another task for the drives, another for communication, high speed inputs.

Alot of this is too organize the system in my head. This system is overkill and made overcomplicated by what documentation/prints I have. The wiring schematics show where I/O connect to the digital cards in the rack....each card has a designation 150N2, 150N3 etc etc
with channel 0, 1, 2, etc instead of using I:0/0, I:0/2 etc.

Now comes the good part, the printed copy of the programming is in Italian and coded. For the ladder section what the print shows as 150N2 channel 4 will be something like R1_cthgls.

Does this sound confusing? for me it is very confusing. I have figured out some of it but I have a long way to go before I can truly understand.

Maybe some of you have dealt with Automax or something similar and can shed some insight on any of it.

My biggest problem is trying to view the lad.pc file with the editor, I havent figured out how to load the file. There are times when its nice to be able to monitor I/O online, this software gives the option to connect online but I havent figured out the right procedure to do all this.

If you have any ideas or know where I can find a manual for the 2.1 Automax software it will be highly appreciated. I am scowering the Automation bookstore for any/all references.

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2002, 03:56 PM   #2
rsdoran
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

rsdoran is offline
 
rsdoran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 7,372
I bulldogged my way thru the software until I figured out how to access the ladder file offline, I will try online tomorrow morning.

I also found a reference in the software to manual Item Numbers J-3610 and J-3661 and have ordered them from the automation bookstore.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2002, 05:01 PM   #3
Steve D
Member
United States

Steve D is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 30
PC Editor

I have used the DOS version of Automax. It uses a norton editor as the default program editor for the basic and block task. The ladder editor is morphed from norton. You use F3 to initiate a file command and then:

E exits w/ save
Q quits w/o save
R reseqences line numbers
M moves
A adds description to rung
C changes description
I info on task; scan time ect


F4 :n.o contact alt F4 = up transition contact

I think these commands are at the bottom of the screen.


I hope this helps you get started. I will try to dig out a manual. At least mine would be in English.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2002, 09:03 PM   #4
Eric Nelson
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

Eric Nelson is offline
 
Eric Nelson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 4,286
Re: AutoMax DCS version 2.1 software

Quote:
Originally posted by rsdoran
Now comes the good part, the printed copy of the programming is in Italian...
Isn't that nice?...

I think I've mentioned it here before, but a good place to translate "technical" terms is LOGOS <--- Link

Translating a few "key words" might shed some light on the original programmer's method of programming...

Buona Fortuna ("Good Luck" in Italian)...

beerchug

-Eric
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2008, 05:22 AM   #5
tundrapolaris
Member
Canada

tundrapolaris is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: ontario
Posts: 7
Sorry to jump in on someones thread, but does anyone have a copy of this old dos based software? I need a cop and cant seem to locate it anywhere.(automax v3 plc) software 2.1 newer versions (4.2) wont work.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2008, 08:11 AM   #6
evilpig
Member
United States

evilpig is offline
 
evilpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MN
Posts: 29
It's been a while since I looked at version 2 of AutoMax. Your I/O variables will be listed in the .cnf file. They are defined in a Slot/Drop/Register/Bit format. I'm not sure if they will be listed as an IODEF as we didn't have any AB cards in our system.

Hope this helps.
__________________
“Freedom is something that dies unless it's used” - Hunter S. Thompson
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dcs, Scada hasnoclue LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 April 11th, 2005 06:12 AM
S7 software version robert mooli LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 January 4th, 2005 10:49 PM
Siemens S5 Programing Software English or Spanish version gcere LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 December 20th, 2003 08:45 AM
Ovation based DCS Software Navet902 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 22nd, 2003 06:10 PM
S5 software version cck LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 June 26th, 2003 04:41 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.


.