You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 12th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #1
pimpim32
Member
Romania

pimpim32 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 119
RSView Studio for ME - creating runtime file

We have RSView Studio for ME cpr4
Last project I have worked with was about one year ago.
Now when I tried first time to create the runtime file the studio came up with a dialog box saying "Unable to save RSLinx Enterprise data server information.Would you like to create the runtime file anyway?" hit yes an in the end comes up a Notepad file stating that runtime file not created due to internal error code 37.

Checked knowledgebase found case ID 36575 and 34070 stating either you do not have RSlinx Enterprise Data server and you shoud create one, or you have already Kepserver and you still have some shortcut to RSLinx Enterprise so it should be deleted.

I have deleted everything, I recreated servers, I restart, closed/open RSlinx Classic, boot in safe mode .....nothing worked.

In the end I created a new file called MyApp2, copied all my displays inside, created my runtime all ok no more problems.

BUT it kills me why wouldn't work from the first time with the first app?I spent about 3 hours for nothing....

Anybody any ideas?

Thanks
Marian
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 10:07 AM   #2
raphael
Member
Tunisia

raphael is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tunis
Posts: 22
Thumbs up

I had the same problem.I reinstalled the RS view from the scratch without successs.
The solution is to recreate the communication in your project.

In the RS view Studio left window, you have to click on the RS linx entrperise and open the communication setup dialog box, then you copy the local configuration file in your target.
your old archive project was most probably created on a different machine with different communication and factory talk settings.

I already tried this and it works fine.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 01:20 PM   #3
Kev77
Member
United States

Kev77 is offline
 
Kev77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Beaverton, Or
Posts: 337
I saw the same thing, I found that whoever installed RSView didn't install RS Linx enterprise. I installed it and it worked.
  Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:33 PM   #4
Samant
Member
Canada

Samant is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Quebec
Posts: 6
Thank you

Tank you Raphael
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2010, 05:21 AM   #5
ndmartz
Member
United States

ndmartz is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: california
Posts: 6
thank you

Thank you Rafael
I was having the same problem and follow your instructions. however in my case when I clicked on RSlinxs a window popped up asking me if I wanted to use create a connection use current settings or use old settings. I clicked on use current computer configuration and it allowed me to save the run time application.
Thank you
Andy
  Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2011, 04:01 PM   #6
robbo
Lifetime Supporting Member
Australia

robbo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 75
Thanks for posting.

Got caught out with this myself this morning. Redid the communications setup and all good again.

  Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2011, 07:56 PM   #7
controlcraft
Member
United States

controlcraft is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 4
RSLinx Enterprise error 37

I have had this happen most often when I've renamed an application. This is what the tech knowledgebase said:

First check the RSLinxEnterprise Communication Setup. This error will be generated if RSLE has not yet been configured for the application. This is the most common cause of the error. Open RSLinxEnterprise Communication Setup and click OK. Continue to the following steps if the error persists during runtime creation.
  1. Open C:\Documents And Settings\All Users\Application Data\Rockwell\RSLinx Enterprise and delete the RsLinxNG.xml file
  2. Open C:\Program Files\Rockwell Software\RSLinx Enterprise and copy the DefaultTemplate.xml file to C:\Documents And Settings\All Users\Application Data\Rockwell\RSLinx Enterprise
  3. Remove or Rename the original RSLinxNG.xml file from the directory, and then rename the DefaultTemplate.xml that was just copied into this directory to RSLinxNG.xml.
  4. Reboot the computer
NOTE:
This problem can also occur when an existing application, is renamed, then opened without validating communication first (as outlined in the first paragraph).

1). Open the Communications Setup.
2). Clicked on the Shortcut in any of the two (2) Tabs that your are currently
interested in.
3). Click the verify button.
4). Check the Verify Dialog, it should verify either or both the Design and or
Runtime Tabs.
5). Click the close button to close the Verify Dialog.
6). Next click the OK button to save the Communications Setup.
7). Shutdown Studio then reboot the computer.
8). You can either create the runtime file or check the Communications Setup
(again), then create the mer file.
9). If the configuration has changed from the previous reboot, then it will be
necessary to correct the communications and save. If the changes do not
hold/maintain themselves, it will be necessary to replace the RSLinxNG.xml
file as detailed above.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2011, 12:12 PM   #8
pimpim32
Member
Romania

pimpim32 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 119
Oh man!!

Thanks all for the input and I apologize if I am a little late...)

Anyway the fact is even I do not remember the problem nor how I have solved it. Just now popped up on my email controlcraft answer and seen my original post.

Apparently RSViewStudio still creating nightmares to people

Cheers all
  Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2011, 12:57 PM   #9
jfrey412
Member
United States

jfrey412 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 3
Thanks Raphael. Your fix still works.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2011, 09:41 AM   #10
kpenguins
Member
United States

kpenguins is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: joliet, il
Posts: 4
Thumbs up RSLinx Enterprise error 37

maybe I just lucked out, I read controlcraft's answer.
The error DID occur after renaming the application.
I skipped to the instructions underneath his note and did steps 1-9 except I skipped step 7 (reboot) just to try it. It worked! Runtime file was created. I basically opened rs linx enterprise, clicked on shortcuts, and clicked ok. Communications path in rs linx had not been changed, only the project name. I dont know if this will work every time without rebooting but it seems you have nothing to lose. (besides the massive time it takes this laptop to reboot)
Strange error, Thanks again.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2011, 10:14 AM   #11
dmroeder
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

dmroeder is offline
 
dmroeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,404
I'd swear that anytime that this happened to us we just deleted the shortcut in the communications setup and recreated it again and it worked. I'll have to pay close attention to this next time it happens.
__________________
Get 2 GB of free space from Dropbox using my referral.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2011, 11:20 AM   #12
ddnnis
Member
United States

ddnnis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rochelle
Posts: 85
See the same thing many times, i'm pretty sure any time you recreate the program you have to verify the comms setup and select OK.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2013, 08:02 AM   #13
Ubbi Wan
Member
Brazil

Ubbi Wan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: São Paulo
Posts: 1
For Win7 change to: "C:\ProgramData\Rockwell\RSLinx Enterprise" - You will found "RSLinxNG.xml" to change.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panelbuilder 32 to RSView Studio russrmartin LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 June 9th, 2006 12:39 PM
Vintage AB Product Conversion to RSView ME Danocane LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 March 5th, 2006 12:16 AM
How to edit RSVIew SE alarm log file?? briana banks LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 March 2nd, 2006 11:11 AM
RSView Studio to RSView 32 Works ladderlogix LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 0 June 9th, 2004 07:26 PM
Data Tables bosshen LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 April 28th, 2003 06:30 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.


.