You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 10th, 2009, 12:37 AM   #1
gmst001
Member
New Zealand

gmst001 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Auckland
Posts: 7
Question Schneider M340 & Red Lion G3

Hi, I have to do a job with a Schneider / Modicon 340 PLC and was wondering if I can connect a Red Lion G306 to it. I can't find out much about it. Some Modbus arrangement maybe ?

Cheers, Grant
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 01:25 AM   #2
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 535
you get different m340 cpu's. bmx p341000, bmx p342000, p342010,p342020 all have normal onboard modbus port. if the red lion has a ethernet port i would go for a bmx p342020(onboard modbus and ethernet port) or p342030 (onboard ethernet and canopen) or optionally you can buy the cheapest m340 and get an extra NOE to use for comms with red lion.
  Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 02:18 AM   #3
chud
Member
South Africa

chud is offline
 
chud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: KALAHARI
Posts: 535
i checked out the red lion and it supports modbus tcp/ip. so any m340 with an ethernet port should work fine
  Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2009, 11:27 PM   #4
gmst001
Member
New Zealand

gmst001 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Auckland
Posts: 7
Thanks chud, I'll head down that path.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 06:50 AM   #5
Chikus
Member
United States

Chikus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Tag addressing

Greetings.

I also have a G3 series Red Lion I want to use with an M340. Using either Crimson 2 or 3, when the Ethernet protocol is set to Modbus TCP/IP, the tag addressing is in standard Modicon format (0xxxx, 1xxxx, 4xxxx, etc.). Unfortunately the M340 follows the IEC61131 standard. Is it possible to address in the old Modicon format to read and write to the new format, i.e. %MW0 = 40001? ...or am I missing something?

Thanks for any input.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 06:11 PM   #6
gmst001
Member
New Zealand

gmst001 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Auckland
Posts: 7
Yeah. That's what I discovered - the Redlion address of 40001 corresponds to the %MW0 address in the M340 and so on.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Lion G3 error - Compactflash Required Matthias von Zorn LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 February 22nd, 2008 01:57 PM
Red Lion G3 - Comms to ControlLogix CraigM1 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 November 2nd, 2007 10:24 AM
Red Lion G3 ArikBY LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 July 30th, 2007 04:05 PM
I/O for Red Lion G3 kolyur LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 July 2nd, 2007 11:38 AM
Red Lion G3 HMI drawson LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 December 23rd, 2006 09:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


.