You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 19th, 2009, 08:26 AM   #1
kiran
Member
Canada

kiran is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 43
Differnce between Profinet and ethernet.

Hi,

Could anybody tell me the difference between ethernet and profinet? Can I connect an ethernet device to profinet network directly?

This is my first project with siemens PLC.

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 09:04 AM   #2
JesperMP
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Denmark

JesperMP is offline
 
JesperMP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Copenhagen.
Posts: 11,652
The PN ports on an S7 PLC can be used for 'regular' ethernet connections. That includes programming with STEP7, and attaching panels and PC HMIs.
Regular ethernet devices can co-exist with Profinet IO Devices and IO Controllers on Profinet networks, as long as everything is consistently hooked up via Profinet switches.
__________________
Jesper
3 strikes and you're out
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 10:01 AM   #3
nonuke
Member
Portugal

nonuke is offline
 
nonuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 569
Taken from the Siemens Profinet Manual

PROFINET
(IEC 61158/61784)
The international standard uses Industrial Ethernet and allows
real-time communication all the way to the field level,
but also integrates the enterprise level. With the full utilization
of existing IT standards, PROFINET allows isochronous
motion control applications, efficient cross-manufacturer
engineering and high availability of machines and systems
on the Industrial Ethernet.
PROFINET supports distributed automation (and controllercontroller

communication) and it allows fail-safe applications
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 10:11 AM   #4
tim2
Member
United States

tim2 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 201
You can look at this thread. I was asking a similar question and its got some good informatino in it.

http://plctalk.net/qanda/showthread....light=profinet
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 12:00 PM   #5
jemac25
Member
United States

jemac25 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Anderson, SC
Posts: 15
Profinet uses the CIP Protocol Overhead Area of the
IEEE 802.3 Ethernet Message Frame to send process data.
This allows Profinet to send 1440 bytes of data per frame versus 500 bytes of data for a Standard Ethernet Frame.
This is approx. 3X data transfered per frame. Profinet can also send and recieve data directly to the application layer
without having to go through the IP and TCP/UDP transportation layers. What this basically means is Profinet sends more data much faster than Standard Ethernet but it can still be handled with off the shelf routers and network switches.

Jemac
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2009, 05:18 PM   #6
kiran
Member
Canada

kiran is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 43
Thanks a bunch.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distributed IO control over Ethernet - Siemens Profinet g18c LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 June 30th, 2014 05:39 PM
Profinet and Ethernet networks tim2 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 November 11th, 2009 12:52 PM
profinet / ethernet without switch Combo LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 June 23rd, 2008 01:20 PM
Industrial ethernet & Profinet difference Nilesh Sinha LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 October 17th, 2005 06:19 AM
Profi-bus or Ethernet Shailesh10 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 December 31st, 2003 01:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.


.