You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 25th, 2011, 04:48 AM   #1
edda
Member
Sweden

edda is offline
 
edda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: At the office
Posts: 100
S7.Net

Hi guys!

Has anybody tried the S7.Net library available at http://s7net.codeplex.com/?

Any experience, issues, reviews, anything is welcomed…

Best Regards

// Edmund
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 06:22 AM   #2
Terrence_H
Member
United Kingdom

Terrence_H is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Milton keynes
Posts: 9
Not sure about that.
had a quick look. But will have to have a further look into it later, as I am stuck at work.
Looks interesting and worth a second look
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 07:46 AM   #3
edda
Member
Sweden

edda is offline
 
edda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: At the office
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrence_H View Post
Not sure about that.
had a quick look. But will have to have a further look into it later, as I am stuck at work.
Looks interesting and worth a second look
Yes I thought so too,

It would be great not having to implement a OPC server when just having to read/write some values to/from a pc application (smaller apps, like some data exchange with a ERP or something)…
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 09:01 AM   #4
Archie
Member
United States

Archie is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Orangeburg, SC
Posts: 1,915
libnodave includes a .NET wrapper for reading/writing to the S7 series
__________________
Expectations lead to disappointment. Appreciation leads to satisfaction.

AdvancedHMI - HMI Software without the license key hassles
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 09:43 AM   #5
edda
Member
Sweden

edda is offline
 
edda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: At the office
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archie View Post
libnodave includes a .NET wrapper for reading/writing to the S7 series
Sure, S7.Net is completely written in C#... for / against ?
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 11:01 AM   #6
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,469
Probably won't matter to you, but when I was researching Siemens drivers for Advanced HMI I couldn't see that S7.net would work with the S7-200 range.

Post here if you have any simple questions about libnodave on a .Net system.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 25th, 2011, 03:05 PM   #7
Thomas_v2
Member
Germany

Thomas_v2 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ger
Posts: 420
You really can't compare libnodave and S7net.
S7net has only functions to read and write PLC variables over ethernet.
With libnodave you could also do other things like plc time system, down- and uploading of program blocks,
support of many different interfaces like MPI/Profibus with S7online, different programming adapters etc.

Then S7net has some special things you need to know:
- It uses only the lowest possible PDU size (number of bytes you can read in one telegram). Normally this is negotiated when connecting to an S7
- Doesn't support reading/writing more than one data area in one telegram

And for me the main reason not to use it:
- It has no real bit-write function. If you write a bitaddress with s7net, it reads the complete byte out of the
PLC, sets or resets the relevant bit and writes the whole byte back to the PLC. If during this the PLC programm sets another
bit in this byte, this will be overwritten by S7net. The S7 has real bit-write functions, and libnodave uses them.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2011, 04:23 PM   #8
edda
Member
Sweden

edda is offline
 
edda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: At the office
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanG View Post
Probably won't matter to you, but when I was researching Siemens drivers for Advanced HMI I couldn't see that S7.net would work with the S7-200 range.

Post here if you have any simple questions about libnodave on a .Net system.
No normally we never use the 200 system... But what did you found out that wont make it work with the 200 range?

Best Regards

Edmund
  Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 07:26 AM   #9
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,469
Quote:
But what did you found out that wont make it work with the 200 range?
To be honest I can't remember. On the web site it does say that he hasn't been able to try the program with the S7-200. Maybe the thing that put me off was that all the connection examples are IP based rather than MPI or PPI. The cost of adding an ethernet module to an S7-200 is prohibitive.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 08:58 AM   #10
edda
Member
Sweden

edda is offline
 
edda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: At the office
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanG View Post
To be honest I can't remember. On the web site it does say that he hasn't been able to try the program with the S7-200. Maybe the thing that put me off was that all the connection examples are IP based rather than MPI or PPI. The cost of adding an ethernet module to an S7-200 is prohibitive.
I see, I´ve been trying to see if anyone has a S7-200 with ethernet...but no luck so far (just to try it out if it works)...
  Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 10:55 AM   #11
BryanG
Member
United Kingdom

BryanG is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,469
Have you looked at using your system to provide drivers for Archies AdvancedHMI.
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=42656
At the moment we have Archie developing software that is of limited use without drivers, and you developing drivers that are of limited use unless they have something to drive. It ends up with a Muppet like me who has never programmed in .Net trying to join two ends together.
  Reply With Quote
Old August 30th, 2011, 11:42 AM   #12
edda
Member
Sweden

edda is offline
 
edda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: At the office
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanG View Post
Have you looked at using your system to provide drivers for Archies AdvancedHMI.
http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=42656
At the moment we have Archie developing software that is of limited use without drivers, and you developing drivers that are of limited use unless they have something to drive. It ends up with a Muppet like me who has never programmed in .Net trying to join two ends together.
No I´m not... Not right now anyway...

The reason I want to use the S7.Net is that I´m about to develop a iOS (iPhone / iPad) project in C# (ported with the MonoTouch Project to native Object-C code) for a custumer...

I have seen some demonstration with the AdvancedHMI, but I have never tried it... But I´ll will give it a try some day...
  Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2013, 12:58 AM   #13
srisainath
Member
Singapore

srisainath is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: singapore
Posts: 1
S7.net

Hi ,
Any one can help me on this query. I want to read the DBX value which return bit.
case"DBX":
mByte = dbIndex;
mBit =
int.Parse(strings[2]);
if (mBit > 7) thrownewException();
objBoolArray = (
bool[])Read(DataType.DataBlock, mDB, mByte, VarType.Bit, 1);
return objBoolArray[mBit];


i can not find VarType.Bit in the Read method.Because of this it always returns null to me

Please help me , how o read this value.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 PM.


.