You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 27th, 2012, 03:28 AM   #1
SID83320
Member
Russian Federation

SID83320 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Moscow
Posts: 3
Need help with upload program from 1747-psd to PC

Hello to everyone!

At first sorry for my bad english.
I've got the next problem:
I have PC with COM-port, 1747-cp3 cable and 1747-psd with SLC5/04 program onboard, and I couldn't upload this programm.
What I do wrong?

PC soft: Windows XP, RSlinx 2.52, RSlogix 500 8.1
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1747-psd.jpg (64.8 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 1747-psd2.jpg (80.2 KB, 17 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2012, 12:37 PM   #2
Mickey
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Mickey is offline
 
Mickey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Palmdale,Ca
Posts: 8,498
Here is the manual for the 1747-PSD, see page 14 ( note to uncheck "Autobrowse")

Note : I have never used a 1747-PSD.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 1747PSDStorageDevice.pdf (596.5 KB, 7 views)
__________________
Mickey

If you want happiness for an hour-take a nap. If you want happiness for a day-go fishing. If you want happiness for a month-getmarried. If you want happiness for a year-inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime-help someone else.
----- Chinese Proverb
  Reply With Quote
Old November 27th, 2012, 01:10 PM   #3
Ron Beaufort
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ron Beaufort is offline
 
Ron Beaufort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 4,498
first question:

was anything already plugged into the port on the front of the SLC before you tried to connect to it yourself? ...

for example: sometimes a barcode reader or an operator's input terminal is already connected to the port ... if that is the case, then the port has probably been reconfigured to act as a "user" type port – instead of a "system" type port ... a "user" type port cannot be used for connection to a programming type device ...

next question:

with NOTHING plugged into the port on the front of the SLC, watch the LED marked "RS232" on the front of the processor ...

does the LED stay OFF – or does it blink once every three or four seconds? ...

if the LED blinks (with NOTHING plugged into it) then the port has probably been reconfigured to be a DH485 type port – and not an RS-232 type port ...

next question:

do you already have an existing copy of the program file? ... if so, can you post it here? ... (you'll have to zip it first – forum rule) ... if we can look at the file, we can often help you understand how your system is set up ...

finally be very careful with the terminology you're using ... in an Allen-Bradley system:

(1) you UP-load a program FROM the PLC ...

(2) you DOWN-load a program TO the PLC ...

which way are you trying to go? ... TO the PLC? – or FROM the PLC? ...

another tip: do not call the PLC a PC ... many people use the abbreviation PC for "Personal Computer" ... that can lead to all sorts of confusion when you're discussing communication issues ...

and welcome to the forum ...
__________________

2-B ?
Best regards, ----+----] [----+------------( )----
Ron | |
PLC Training Boot Camp | 2-B |
+----]/[----+

I once was lost, but now am found, was blind, but now I see.


Last edited by Ron Beaufort; November 27th, 2012 at 01:15 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2012, 04:19 AM   #4
SID83320
Member
Russian Federation

SID83320 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Moscow
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickey View Post
Here is the manual for the 1747-PSD, see page 14 ( note to uncheck "Autobrowse")

Note : I have never used a 1747-PSD.
Mickey, thanks for your answer, but I tried this variant too. It's still doesn't work
  Reply With Quote
Old November 28th, 2012, 04:29 AM   #5
SID83320
Member
Russian Federation

SID83320 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Moscow
Posts: 3
Ron, sorry if I couldn't exactly explain what I want to do.
At this moment I don't have any PLC.
I've got:
1747-PSD
http://www.ab.com/en/epub/catalogs/1...39758/2178622/
and
PC (Personal Computer).
I know that there is a program stored in 1747-PSD. And I want to UPLOAD this program from 1747-PSD to my PC.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upload program from VersaMax 64-Point Micro PLCs satdan LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 March 1st, 2013 08:16 AM
Need Help with 1746-BAS error bfore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 9 May 19th, 2011 03:24 PM
Program upload from Omron NT631C sylwek LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 November 6th, 2010 03:17 AM
Downloading the program from a PLC to a PC Lou LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 10 February 12th, 2009 03:07 AM
I can't not upload program from NT20M (again) smile LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 26 September 11th, 2004 02:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.


.