You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 10th, 2013, 08:53 AM   #1
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
PLC Knight Rider programme.

Hi Guys.

Im Programming a knightrider beam light using GX Developer on 8 leds flashing from Y0 to Y7 and back.

Anybody know how to do that?

i have done half the programme where leds are flashing from Y0 to Y7 but i dont know how to go back from Y7 to Y0. the programme also has to run forever until switched off.

I have started with T0 with Y0 as output and timer of T0 K5 and then i closed the loop with T0. this turn on Y0 for 0.5 second and move on to next output. i have done all my steps same like this. I just dont know how to go back from Y7 to Y0.

Pls give clear instructions as im new to plc.

Thanks
Ron.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 10:03 AM   #2
shooter
Member
Netherlands

shooter is offline
 
shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: duketown
Posts: 2,633
how do you move from y0 to y1?
you use a shift? or a mul
if at y7 then shift other way or divide by 2
__________________
shooter@home.nl
skype shooter paul.deelen
Computer Shooter
Paul Deelen
J. Wassenaerstraat 29
NL 5224 GG 's-Hertogenbosch
+31653300739
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 11:07 AM   #3
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Thanx for the reply shooter.

could u pls tell step by step.
my programme looks like this.

X0 T0 Y0
----!!----!----!/!------------()
! T0 K5
!------------------()

T0 T1 Y1
----!!----!----!/!------------()
! T1 K5
!------------------()


and so on.............
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 11:10 AM   #4
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Thanx for the reply shooter.

could u pls tell step by step.
my programme looks like this.

----X0--------T0-----------Y0
----!!---------!/!------------()
---------!----------------T0 K5
---------!------------------()

----T0--------T1-----------Y1
----!!---------!/!------------()
---------!----------------T1 K5
---------!------------------()

and so on.............
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 11:37 AM   #5
FSEIPEL
Member
United States

FSEIPEL is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: cOLUMBUS OHIO
Posts: 27
Knight Rider

I'm assuming you want single LED lit, going left to right, then back, then recurring. If last timer initiates first it will cycle. Close x0 to trigger all cycling. Each LED has two conditions to trigger it. Shifting or numeric comparisons will allow a tighter program to achieve same then shown below.



| .. X0 ..TIM 4 ...............TIM 001/0.5 sec
|---| |---|/|---------------------( )-----------| Initiate timer for leftmost light. Close x0 to initiate sequence.
|
| .. x0 ..TIM 001 .................Y0
|---| |---|/|---------------------( )-----------| Fire leftmost light
|
| .. x0 TIM 001 ..............TIM 002/0.5 sec
|---| |---| |---------------------( )-----------| Initiate timer for middle light
|
| .. x0 . TIM 001 .. TIM 002 ......Y1
|---| |-+-| |----------|/|-----+--( )-----------| Fire middle light
| | |
| | TIM 003 .... TIM 004 |
| +-| |-----------|/|----+
|
|
| . x0 . TIM 002 ............TIM 003/0.5 sec
|---| |---| |---------------------( )-----------| Initiate timer for rightmost light
|
| . x0 . TIM 002 ....TIM 003 ..... Y2
|---| |---| |----------|/|--------( )-----------| Fire rightmost light
|
| . x0 . TIM 003 ............TIM 004/0.5 sec
|---| |---| |---------------------( )-----------| Initiate timer for middle light
|

Last edited by FSEIPEL; November 10th, 2013 at 11:41 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 01:33 PM   #6
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Thanks for ur reply FSEIPEL.

im just using plc for the 1st time.

the sequence u told me, will it turn on all lights from Y0 to Y7 and back?
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 01:45 PM   #7
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
Could u tell me the 1st step for this programme so i can carry on.
and step to come back from y7 please?
thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 02:53 PM   #8
goghie
Member
Serbia

goghie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 219
Convert program below to ladder ("Ladder/Instruction View switch" button). It is tested:

0 LD>= D0 K15
5 MOV K0 D0
10 LD X000
11 ANI T1
12 OUT T1 K5
15 LDP T1
17 INC D0
20 LD X000
21 LD= D0 K0
26 OR= D0 K15
31 ANB
32 OUT Y000
33 LD X000
34 LD= D0 K1
39 OR= D0 K14
44 ANB
45 OUT Y001
46 LD X000
47 LD= D0 K2
52 OR= D0 K13
57 ANB
58 OUT Y002
59 LD X000
60 LD= D0 K3
65 OR= D0 K12
70 ANB
71 OUT Y003
72 LD X000
73 LD= D0 K4
78 OR= D0 K11
83 ANB
84 OUT Y004
85 LD X000
86 LD= D0 K5
91 OR= D0 K10
96 ANB
97 OUT Y005
98 LD X000
99 LD= D0 K6
104 OR= D0 K9
109 ANB
110 OUT Y006
111 LD X000
112 LD= D0 K7
117 OR= D0 K8
122 ANB
123 OUT Y007
124 END

Best regards,
Vuckovic Goran.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 02:58 PM   #9
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
thanx for ur reply goghie
how can i convert this to ladder?
pls explain
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 03:01 PM   #10
goghie
Member
Serbia

goghie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 219
1. Copy it to text file,
2. then Project->Import file->Import from Text, CSV format file,
3. Then Alt+F1 to convert to Ladder...
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 03:08 PM   #11
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
There is no option of "import from text, csv file" in GX developer.
options i have are
GPPA
GPPQ
WIN
DOS
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 03:11 PM   #12
daba
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United Kingdom

daba is offline
 
daba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 4,341
I don't know GX Developer at all, so can't help with the programming.

However, before you get fully developed for a single LED going left to right, then back, I don't believe that KIT's lights were like that. I think they were "waved" across, like in the picture I've attached.

I've shown examples for 2, 3, 4, and 5 LEDs

If you are after realism, you might find one of these patterns better, and it might shape how you do your logic.

In Allen-Bradley, I would achieve these patterns using an instruction called "Sequencer Output", or SQO, and could do any of these light patterns in an Allen-Bradley PLC using only 2 instructions !! Perhaps there's a similar instruction in GX ?? IDK...

oops forgot to attach the pic...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Knightrider.jpg (114.3 KB, 97 views)
__________________
___________________________
ControlLogix & SLC Training
a-b train ltd.
abtrain@tiscali.co.uk
www.abtrain.co.uk
tel: 07506 73 9999
nil illegitimi carborundem


  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 03:16 PM   #13
goghie
Member
Serbia

goghie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 219
Gnccollege,

Don't be lazy, you can always do it with you keyboard. Find bellow printscreen.

Best regards,
Vuckovic Goran.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gx developer.jpg (50.4 KB, 97 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 03:26 PM   #14
gnccollege
Member
United Kingdom

gnccollege is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK
Posts: 8
goghie

can i ask which gx developer version r u using?

GX IEC Developer
GX IEC Developer FX
GX Developer
GX Developer FX
  Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2013, 03:35 PM   #15
goghie
Member
Serbia

goghie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Belgrade
Posts: 219
I prefer GX IEC Developer (it is much much better - two light years in front comparing with GX Developer), but for this occasion, I have used GX Developer 8.101F, as you wrote that you are using it....
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PLC Update - Back Issues Collection Now Available! Phil Melore LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 11 October 22nd, 2015 02:17 AM
Call PC program from PLC and return results from PC to PLC adavi231 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 7 April 12th, 2012 04:30 PM
Magelis hmi xbtg4320 and a twido plc twdlcda24drf asim_rana LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 23 February 3rd, 2012 12:37 PM
PC to PLC Protocol TheRixta LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 13 December 17th, 2008 12:56 PM
PLC 5/80C crash, questions! tomalbright LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 19 September 19th, 2008 07:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


.