You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 10th, 2013, 11:21 AM   #1
martinAPD
Member
Scotland

martinAPD is offline
 
martinAPD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 26
Siemens S7-1200 ProfiNet

Afternoon all,

I'm using TIA Portal V12 SP1 to program a Siemens S7-1200 (Part No. 212 1AE31-0XB0) to control a Siemens Sinamics G120 (Part No. 6SL3210-1KE23-8AF1) over ProfiNet. I also have a small KP300 (Part No. 6AV6 647-0AH11-3AX0) which is used to define a speed setpoint which will be sent to the drive.

I've assigned the PLC an IP Address of 192.168.0.1, and the G120 an IP Address of 192.168.0.3 and a ProfiNet Device No1. I set the Cyclic Data Exchange to "Siemens Telegram 352" in the configuration, which sends 6 words to the device, and receives 6 words back.

I found a manual online that says to use the "RDREC" and "WRREC" instructions to send and receive data to the G120, but I'm struggling to get any comms with the device using these instructions. I've now resorted to just concentrating on reading from the device, but I still don't appear to be reading any data. When I open the "Online & Diagnostic" section for the G120 in TIA Portal, I can view the Control/Status words, which don't match the data what I'm reading back.

Are the RDREC & WRREC the correct instructions to use? Also should I be reading single bits/word individually or the whole Telegram as one "record"?

Thanks in advance, any/all help is greatly received.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2013, 11:49 AM   #2
marcius
Member
Lithuania

marcius is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Klaipeda
Posts: 137
RDREC and WRREC blocks are for acyclic comms you need prepare special structure DB for sending/receivieng data.
DPRD_DAT and DPWR_DAT blocks are used for cyclic comms.

Anyways here is application example just like yours:
https://support.automation.siemens.c...jaction=csview

Take a look at it and if you have any questions, come back here then.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2013, 11:56 AM   #3
rQx
Lifetime Supporting Member
Sweden

rQx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Trelleborg
Posts: 972
I'm not sure you need send and recieve instructions. The status and read words are updated cyclic if I remember correct.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2013, 12:03 PM   #4
marcius
Member
Lithuania

marcius is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Klaipeda
Posts: 137
Of course for cyclic comms you can simply use Load/Transfer instructions.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2013, 01:29 PM   #5
rQx
Lifetime Supporting Member
Sweden

rQx is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Trelleborg
Posts: 972
No need for any instructions. Add the frequency converter to your config. Go to device view and check what Input adresses and Output adresses you have. Both the input words and the output words are updated cyclic. No need for any transfer/load instruction or anything else. For example if you change the output word that control the setpoint speed just change it and it will take effect.

Hope I got your question right, I'm using a G120C , maybe it's not the same for your drive.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siemens S7 1200 Modbus Communication wolverine1981 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 25th, 2016 03:42 AM
Siemens S7 1200 willified LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 16 May 16th, 2011 06:28 PM
Siemens S5 and S7 Dual Masters for Profibus daveswerld LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 15 December 16th, 2008 03:15 AM
New to Siemens S7......and programming scimdarren LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 20 September 2nd, 2005 09:36 AM
Siemens S7 ethernet protocol fzhang LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 3 May 19th, 2004 01:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 AM.


.