You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

---------->>>>>Get FREE PLC Programming Tips

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

PLC training tools sale

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 19th, 2015, 10:19 AM   #1
ddsiller
Member
United States

ddsiller is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 19
Question PLC5 Powerflex 700

HI there,

I am a beginner with PLCs.
I have a PLC5/40 Allen Bradley with 1771 IAD & OAD (Output and Input Modules in the same Chasis) and a PowerFlex 700 AC drive. I am using RSlogix 5 with DH+ to USB connection. I have already setup the PLC with mi PC and is working fine. I made a simple program to send an input signal to open the output signal. The issue is that I wired the physical Outputs to the PowerFlex 700 and I can't start the drive trough my PLC. A fault occurs "Stop asserted" which clears when I toggle the stop input from my PLC activating the Stop signal of my drive . I can start the drive trough the HIM and stop it from my PLC but I cant start the Powerflex 700 from my PLC
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2015, 01:54 PM   #2
jraef
Member
United States

jraef is offline
 
jraef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,479
Read the manual of the VFD. You must TELL the VFD (in its programming) where the Start/Run command is coming from. In this case, it appears it is still set to respond to the HIM as the source for a Start/Run command. The source for a Stop command is separate, and the default condition is to accept ALL Stop commands, regardless of what the Start/Run command is set for. That explains why you can still Stop it from the PLC even though you can't Start it from there (yet).
  Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2015, 02:06 PM   #3
ddsiller
Member
United States

ddsiller is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Arizona
Posts: 19
I solved the problem. It was a Mask parameter 276. "Digital in" didnt had permission to Star the Drive. I changed the bit from 0 to 1 and it solved the problem.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerflex 700 & rslogix 5000 edwardeduful LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 35 March 23rd, 2015 03:10 PM
PLC5 and Powerflex 700 wit RIO communications gouch LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 6 December 21st, 2011 03:04 AM
Powerflex 700 Need Help Sean Wing LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 8 August 4th, 2011 10:24 PM
PowerFlex 700 and PowerFlex 700S skhara LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 April 17th, 2007 12:43 PM
Using AB Powerflex 700 with MODBUS?? RPax LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 4 March 6th, 2007 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:32 AM.


.