a real use for the S:24 bit.

olsq

I had a real world problem at work today.
To be clear:
I am not a programmer or plc guy.
I am a BUBBA!
I know enough to be dangerous.
Since, I am the only one to go online for months...I caused this problem.

Long story short...
PC running wonderware talks to a AB 5/04
S:24 was set to 3 instead of 0.
After 8 hrs and a lot of phone calls, it is fixed now.
In terms of my question the details do not matter.

Question...
In real world terms why/how would the S:24 bit be used.

Answers in short, single syllable terms would be appreciated.

Thanx in advance.

I don't mean to alarm you - but your problem MIGHT be back someday ...

secret handshake: there are many different things in the PLC program that can change the value stored in S:24 ... (the HMI might also change the value - but that's a lot less likely) ...

my advice is that you post your program here and let us take a look at it ... (you'll have to ZIP the file first - forum rule) ...

and make sure with your boss that the program isn't considered proprietary or trade secret information ...

and one step further ... technically speaking S:24 is a "word" (16 bits) not a "bit" ... but that's not important here ...

Thanx for replying Ron,
I can't Post the file.
It is a 15yr old system that has gone thru various upgrades.
After a search of all the saved files, the bit was changed in march.
Why it became a problem today, I Don't know.
The short term/permanent solution was to add a MOV instruction to the top of the main program. I write a zero every scan to S:24.
I have fat fingers, so the problem is 99% self inflicted.

I posted the question to try to learn the possible uses for the S:24 bit.

As Ron pointed out, S24 is a Word, not a Bit. Specifically it is referred to Index Register. It is generally used for an Offset or Indexing into files using Indirect Adressing. Something like;

N7:[S:24] or N7:10/[S:24]

Do a search in the RSLogix Help for Indirect Addressing.