AB DF1 Half Duplex Wireless System

DMC

Hi everyone. Happy New Year. I'm a newbie to this forum as well as to AB.
I'm working on a Half Duplex DF1 wireless system that uses 3 AB Micrologix 1200C PLCs (Slaves).
The PLCs are interfaced to a RSView station (Master).

I am using 4 MDS 9810 serial radios of which 1 is a Master, 1 a Repeater/Slave and the other Slaves. The process is to monitor 2 pumping booster stations (1 feeds uphill to the other) and on to a tank on top of a mountain which provides potable water to the community below.
The tank level, motors status, alarms etc information is then sent back to the Township building where the RSView station is setup as the Master. The system runs at 38,400 bps.

I am getting -95dB from Master to Repeater and -90dB to the other sites from the Repeater.

My problem is that I am having a hard time tuning the system. I am experiencing "graying out" on my motor graphics (normally red or green)to indicate which pumps are running at the booster stations.

I haven't been able to get the system running without timeouts, and a lot of retries and it's very frustrating at this point. It works okay, but when I check on it the next day I have a bottleneck of 80-90 bytes in the message queue.

Here are my protocol settings:
ACK timeout: 500mS
retries: 3
packet timeout = 40 seconds
delay after xmting packet 2mS
retransmission delay =0

I am polling using in sequence standard polling all stations are being priority polled, duplicate packet detect is on.

If anyone has any experience with using DF1 Half duplex Master/Slave in this way, would you suggest some settings for the Master in this application.

Thanks

I don't know dude. What is the make of the repeaters and the communication devices that you are using? You are connected serially, as you indicated in your post.
I am more familliar with Prosoft stuff. If you are going AB, use Prosoft.