ABB Safety relay's Reset/Test inputs

unsaint32

My questions are about ABB's safety relay JSBT5. A1 and A2 of course energize its coil. X1 and X2 are for stop reset. For this posting, let's assume that all coils and loads use 24V, and PB1 to A1-A2, and PB2 to x1 and x2. And let's assume that there is only one NO contact although this particular relay has 3 NO and 1 NC contacts. I am uploading a pic.

Question #1) What happens to the contacts if I press PB2 (the reset PB) while the A1-A2 coil is already energized? My guess is nothing happens.

Question #2) The manual of this relay says the X1-X2 can be used as test inputs that test that contactor positions have returned/dropped before a new start can be permitted. I just don't see how. Can you explain please.

Thanks.

1.jpg

I'm not an expert by an means and have occasionally used the ABB safety products previously know as jokab safety over here in Australia.

If the outputs are off then you would need the safety signals to be high to indicate it's safe, estop / light curtain etc. Then finally the X1 and X2 needs to be momentarily closed to reset the relay and close the internal safety contacts.

Normally when using safety contactors we would wire x1 through the NC auxiliary contacts of the safety contactors in series and then through the NO reset button then back to X2. This ensures both safety contactors have infact opened before allowing the reset. This way if a contactor has welded shut you cannot reset the system and forces you to replace the welded contactor.

Tony.

In your circuit, PB2 should be connected between X1 and X2 only. X1 and X2 should not be connected directly to +24 and/or 0V.

Question #1) What happens to the contacts if I press PB2 (the reset PB) while the A1-A2 coil is already energized? My guess is nothing happens.
I can't answer authoritatively as I don't have one to actually test but it shouldn't do anything.