Backplane communication of a S7-300

manolo40

Hi all
I'm a french student and I have a research project which consists in detecting the late of the I/O cards and the internal bus of a S7-300 PLC.
I look for a documentation of the backplane (14 pins) bus but :sick:
Thanks for your help

There are two reason's for this.

1. PLC manufacturers don't normally want to make this information public. They don't want third party companies making boards for their PLCs. My company has made motion cards for a few different PLC manufacturers. We had to sign a non disclosure statement before getting the PLC bus specifications. The whole process is carefully controlled and any third party board must be certified by the PLC company.

2. Publishing information like this can only be used against the PLC company. If there is a good idea then others will copy it. If the bus design is poor then others will compare their better bus to the inferior bus. Usually it is the latter case that applies since there is only one bus that is best.

There are others on the forum that know more about the buses on a S7. They probably work for Siemens and even then they probably haven't seen the bus specifications. I have never seen specifications for a S7. I have talked to people that have told me what they think the S7 uses for its buses.

Why is it important? In the end it is a matter what PLC does the job.

Hi Manolo.

I dont think there is any published information about the backplane of the S7-300. Siemens do not want to let anyone know about these things.
What is known is that it is separated into the K-bus (for communication "Kommunikation") and P-bus (for i/o "Peripherie").