Beginner question..

Helloworld25

So I work for a company that doesn’t allow code change without going through a lot of people. Anyway my question is I have a sensor and when it gets blocked for 4 seconds it outputs a blue jam light. We’ll it goes un-noticed by employees so i wanted to add a jam horn to sound off what I was originally going to do was request changing the code to just simply output the existing horn in a near by area and the light both. The light is 120v I was just going to wire a 120v alarm horn in parallel with the light so when the light output is triggered by the plc the horn also goes off. Some more info the light runs to a remote I/O but I can tie in the horn in the junction box right next to pilot light. Is this a bad idea? Will it work? Or should I just go the long route. Sorry if this is a dumb question I’m relatively new to PLCs. Any help would be appreciated.

And also check if the light has a "lamp/light test", command in the logic and if it does, is it OK for the horn to also sound for a lamp test.

Also check if the audible being constantly on with the light is going to cause employees to direct profanities at you. Perhaps consider a unit that can modulate and/or adjust volume in hardware.

Also check if the audible being constantly on with the light is going to cause employees to direct profanities at you. Perhaps consider a unit that can modulate and/or adjust volume in hardware.

That was also a concern of mine. The alarm is continuous, I told my co-workers it’s going to be constant alarm, although the light blinks I think that’s just the internal circuitry of the light creating the flash one of my co-workers thinks the alarm will sound with the light. I think the opposite. So if I have wago remote I/O being communicated to the PLC over profibus I just need to find out the current rating of that and make sure my light and horn doesn’t exceed that?