Building Automation System

gitargr8

I've been tasked with coming up with a solution to replace an outdated Control Systems International (now called TAC and owned by Schneider Electric) I/Net building automation system with something current.

My background is in industrial automation, so my preference would be to use a CompactLogix 5330ER (capable of 32 Remote I/O nodes and 256 CIP connections) per building with remote Ethernet I/P IO racks, either PointI/O or WAGO 750. The customer also uses BACNet in other locations of their campus, so I would most likely utilize a Prosoft gateway to communicate with T-stats or VAVs. They have a GE iFix SCADA with the IGS driver, so I know I can tie in the Logix platform easily.

Another option would be to just use the WAGO controllers themselves, as it appears that they have a pretty decent library of building automation function blocks and even have a BACNet version. I'm leery of this solution though because CODESYS is not familiar to me, and I don't really know of it's capabilities / shortcomings. Better the devil you know...

My concern with this set up is that the existing CSI system uses discreet outputs that can double as PWM outputs. As far as I know, there isn't really a PWM card out there for AB or WAGO. I'd imagine that a 0-10V analog output signal can be converted to PWM via a signal conditioner, but I'd like to keep the installation as clean as possible.

I'm wondering if there's a better solution out there. Keep in mind, that this would be just a controls replacement, they'd like to leave as much of the existing equipment in place. That's not to say that we couldn't swap out actuators on valves / dampers, however.

Thanks for any input,
~Ryan

I looked into replacing a L&S (now Siemens) BCS with PLC a few years back.