Communication between plc SLC 500 (5/04) and computer

vgspark

Hello guys.
I have some question regarding communication between plc SLC 500 (5/04) and computer. The plc I got used and it is my first time that I try to communicate between plc and computer. I have rslink installed and I have 9 pins communication Cable that I can comunicate between PLC and computer. All fun buto_O I can't to get comunication between plc and computer. In rslink I choosed on option box and clicked on “RS-232 DF-1 devices”, and clicked the “Add New…” button then “OK” button. Next, driver setup dialog box. I configured the dialog box upon my computer.
When I tray to click the “Auto Configure” button I got message "Auto Configure fails"
On plc I have a fault red flashing and DH+ flashing green. I asked my frend and he said there is some trick for first comunication cuz the processor doesn't has program. Pls guys help me to solve this issue.
Thank you in advance,
VG

When you do the auto-configure make sure you are selecting the right com port for your computer. There is also 2 pins that you can jumper on the SLC-504 that resets it. Do a search here on resetting the processor.

There is also 2 pins that you can jumper on the SLC-504 that resets it.

Pull the battery, turn the card over and look for VBB and GND, short these two points for about 30 sec, then try your auto configure again, like Mark said... make sure you are using the correct COM port, also what is the 9 pin cable?

Note: by doing this you will erase the CPU memory and program

Pull the battery, turn the card over and look for VBB and GND, short these two points for about 30 sec, then try your auto configure again, like Mark said... make sure you are using the correct COM port, also what is the 9 pin cable?

Note: by doing this you will erase the CPU memory and program
Thank guys.