Control Data Structure UL Bit

duncrock

Hello All,

I am relatively new at this, so I apologize if my questions are unclear.

Either way, I am using an FAL To copy a value from an array into a Tag. My issue is that the UL bit of the Control Structure keeps turning on. I'm not sure what the UL Bit does, or why it keeps turning on. I cant find any good documentation on Rockwell about this bit either.

You probably already checked this, but is the CONTROL structure passed to the FAL instruction being used anywhere else in the program?

I use the .POS in a few different spots.
If the sequence is paused and then restarted then I subtract 1 from the POS.

If the sequence gets to a certain step then we set the POS to a new value.

And then if the sequence is stopped the POS is set to 0.

apart from those nothing from the CONTROL structure is used anywhere other than the FAL.

Last edited:
According to the available documentation ...

The .UL bit of a control structure is normally used only in the BSL and BSR (Bit-Shift Left and Bit-Shift Right) instructions cf. here.

It can be cleared by the AVE (AVErage) instruction cf. here.

If .UL is being assigned a value of 1 elsewhere, that may indicate the equivalent of a buffer overflow, but changes to the other CONTROL structure bits would likely be effected ;) as well.

It's a puzzle; can you post your code (PDF preferred)?

The CONTROL data type is used by multiple instructions, with different instructions using different pieces of it.

The FAL documentation does not indicate it uses the .UL bit; afaik that bit is used only by BSL and BSR for the value of the bit that was just shifted out.

As drbitboy's question implied, the most likely explanation for the UL bit to change is if the CONTROL word is used elsewhere by an instruction that does use that bit. Crossreference the CONTROL structure as a whole to make sure it isn't being used elsewhere.