ControlLogix - ProSoft Modbus TCP/IP - RPI Setting

Eradicated

I am not very experienced in Rockwell PLCs and have run into a small problem, so I could do with a little bit of help.

We have a redundant ControlLogix system (two PLC racks and one I/O rack), as per the screenshot below:

ControlLogix.png

As you can see, we have two ProSoft Modbus modules (MVI56-MNET), which are used for supervisory-to-PLC communications.

The problem is that sometimes the Modbus messages sent from the supervisory are being rejected by the ProSoft card (i.e. we are receiving Modbus exception code 06 - Slave Device Busy).

According to some information found on the Internet and ProSoft website, this could be addressed by reducing the RPI for the module (currently set to 250ms for both Modbus modules in the I/O rack).
However, when one of our field engineers tried reducing it to ~50ms, seems like this started generating too much traffic and the Modules would eventually stop responding and fail (needed a restart).

The question is: is there any way to calculate minimum acceptable RPI for those modules? The ProSoft manual states that: "fifty milliseconds is usually a good starting value" for a module in a remote rack.

I would rather avoid trial-and-error approach if I can, but I cannot find any guidelines on calculating it?

Last edited:
I would advice you calculate the slowest RPI which your process can tolerate and use this number for yor setup. Why update at a faster rate than needed if the faster rate affects this one component of this network ?

My Modbus experience is that determining the highest polling rate is an exercise in empirical experimentation. It is dependent on the components/devices in the system and network conditions (like EMI noise levels from external sources).

The only way one knows is to keep increasing the polling rate (lowering the interval time) until it causes problems.