count down time clock in plc5

James Mcquade

hi all,

i have 16 lines here and almost all are identical.
each has a steel seam belt to transport product on.
each belt stretches and must be shortened every 2 or 3 days by cutting the seam and 30 ft off the belt.

i was given a task to track the belt seam and i have it working. when the line stops, the tracking system pauses.

now they want me to incorporate a count down timer into the wonderware 7 hmi to help eliminate the operators reading a chart (which is fairly accurate) until you take into consideration any belt stoppages.

i searched the site but was unsble to find what i need.
the plc is a plc 5/40 or bigger.

any help would be much appreciated.

thanks in advance,
james

i have the position tracking program working.

i need help with the plc portion since i'm new to wonderware 7.0
i can compute the estimated time in the plc in hours and minutes, but how would you be able to relate this time to a clock, say 12 hours from now?

regards,
james

Within a PLC5 system the Status data file contains the CPU internally running clock which's decimal values will be stored within Memory Address S:21 (Hours), S:22 (Minutes) and S:23 (seconds).
You could "snap-shot" the three respective values at the time Line Start and Line Stop events occur and then "relate" these values to your "countdown timer".

dmargineau,
thanks for that information.

that points me in a good direction and i can do it in the plc.

how would i do it with wonderware 7.0?

i ask because they may not like the plc solution.

regards,
james

now they want me to incorporate a count down timer into the wonderware 7 hmi to help eliminate the operators reading a chart (which is fairly accurate) until you take into consideration any belt stoppages.
---
thanks in advance,
james