Crimson 3.0 Program Execution on Timer

RedLionNewbie

I am new to Red Lion HMI's and their Crimson 3.0 Software. I have a program that I know will run properly but I am unable to figure out how to get it to run every five minutes automatically. If someone has as example of some program coding that I can run to accomplish this or a previous thread for reference that I missed in my previous searches, please let me know.

Thanks,
RedLionNewbie

There is a way to run a program "on tick", which means every second. Create a small program that increments an integer every time it is run. When the integer is >= 300 (5 minutes), call your other program and reset the integer to 0.

There are many ways to skin a cat... here's one more:
Create a new Flag tag, set the source to General and put "(GetNow() % 300) == 0" (minus the quotes) into the source field. In the Triggers tab for this tag, create a new Active On trigger and put your program name in the Action field.

The GetNow function returns seconds and is the base for all the real time clock functions. The percent sign is the modulo/remainder operator, so using this with 300 (number of seconds in 5 minutes) will produce a zero value once every 300 seconds. Your program will be triggered each time this happens.

John,

How much load do you think the Flag tag with the expression puts on the CPU ? Do you know how often the expressions for Flag tags are evaluated ?

Since this isn't a time-critical function even though it's time-related, I'm curious about what method places the least burden on the device.