DDC vs PLC

Tripper

Hi, I'm fairly new to the PLCs (coming from the BMS,DDC Bacnet world). I am currently doing rotating 12h shift work in a food manuf. plant. (Steep learning curve!), I was just curious if anyone else has worked in both areas, because although the basics appear to be the same, I cant get over how the two industries are so different.
Clive

PLCs developed to meet the needs of general purpose industrial control. DDC developed to meet the specific needs of HVAC and building management. DDC is generally lower cost, less capable, but has specialized functions for heating control etc. PLCs can do anything a DDC can do, but you may have to do more programming. DDC would have trouble with many industrial control applications.

I probably should have been more specific,

DDC
the controllers have been flash upgradable over network (for many years)
Peer comms, directly program points on other panels with prioritys
No limits on SCADA tags (we use Citect here)
The processors card have upgradable RAM
The entire network can be backed up with a click of button (or reloaded)
Programs copied from one panel to another with drag/drop
Analog points jumper selectable from 0-5v,0-10v,0-20ma,4-20ma

etc etc, (I know I'm bias and its what your familiar with)

Tripper said:

DDC

etc etc, (I know I'm bias and its what your familiar with)

O.K. you just discribed the most basic function of a PLC..a typical DDC system (From my understanding) works in seconds where as a PLC deals in Micro seconds, i watched a DDC programmer fight with getting 2 pumps to start (It was a tricky application)..I had the logic figured in my head for a plc in about 5 seconds..It took about 4 or 5 hours for him to get it just so..and he was lucky the system was a little forgiving..