ELC Soft Questions

651beckwith

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to the PLC world. I did a little bit of it back in my undergrad, but I mainly focused basic on Data Acquisition with NI LabWindows, so this ladder logic stuff is a little new to me.

In my place of work, I've been tasked with trying to figure out what somebody (who is no longer with the company) coded into a PLC that we are using. No body in my office has used ELC Soft before, so I'm on my own.

Anyway, I feel like I understand the idea of how to build ladder logic, but I feel like I'm missing some very basic piece of information. I can't seem to wrap my head around some of the descriptions they use in the help.

For example:

TO m1 m2 S n

m1: Specialty module number

m2: CR (Control Register) number of the special module

S: Data address of the data to write to the specialty module
n: Number of words to write

In the code I'm looking at, there are various TO/FROM rungs that look something like this:

TO K4 K1 H9 K1

My understanding:
K's and H's are constants in Decimal and Hex, respectively

I'm writing Hex 9 into module 4's first Control Register in one word?

Is that correct? If so, how do I find out how the module #s and Control Registers relate to my PLC I/O? Does this even make sense?

I don't have the PLC on hand (it is on-site), but it is a elc-pv28nndt

Hope you can help me out.

<disclaimer - I work for an Eaton distributor>

The ELC has an almost mind numbing array of functions for a PLC its size but it is also very inexpensive. The result of that combination is that the learning curve for programming can be quite steep. The line is generally the same as the Delta Electronics line sold in Asia.

I have only done one project in the ELC and I believe the "TO" instructions I used were put there by a wizard in the software for adding I/O modules. I don't think I ever touched them.

<disclaimer - I work for an Eaton distributor>