FactoryTalk Expressions

mcswc3

I'm new to FactoryTalk and am struggling finding any information on using expressions.

1. How are you suppose to learn expressions - both correct syntax and know all what's possible to do?

2. Specifically:

I added:

IF {[PLC_1]Test_Tag_1} == 1
THEN 3
ELSE {[PLC_1]Test_Tag_2}

to the Multistate Button Indicator expression. State 3 on the button is the same button but "grayed-out" so the user sees the value but it's dull and the PLC won't do anything. And, it works! But, since I have to add this to a bunch of buttons, I was wondering if I could do something like:

IF {[PLC_1]Grayed_Out_Tag_1} == 1
THEN 3
ELSE DEFAULT

and "DEFAULT" would just use the tag that's already in the Value field...

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

I'm new to FactoryTalk and am struggling finding any information on using expressions.

1. How are you suppose to learn expressions - both correct syntax and know all what's possible to do?

2. Specifically:

I added:

IF {[PLC_1]Test_Tag_1} == 1
THEN 3
ELSE {[PLC_1]Test_Tag_2}

to the Multistate Button Indicator expression. State 3 on the button is the same button but "grayed-out" so the user sees the value but it's dull and the PLC won't do anything. And, it works! But, since I have to add this to a bunch of buttons, I was wondering if I could do something like:

IF {[PLC_1]Grayed_Out_Tag_1} == 1
THEN 3
ELSE DEFAULT

and "DEFAULT" would just use the tag that's already in the Value field...

Any suggestions would be much appreciated!

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Try
this manual, chapter 23 specifically, it will tell you all you need to know about using expressions. Also, there is a syntax checker in the expression field, which will tell you if your syntax is "correct". Actually, all it can tell you is if your syntax is executable, but not necessarily if it will do what you want it to!