Floating Point Registers - Understanding

sgsims

I am new to using floating point registers w/ Alen Bradley products and I seem to be having some trouble getting the output I desire.

Can someone tell me what the registers should look like if I use the DIV function to divide 3 by 2 and put the output in F8;0?

According to the IEEE standard there should be something in both F8:0 & F8:1 resgisters which are 16 bits long each. I expect to see the binary out put for 1.5 according to the IEEE standard or 1.5 if I select decimal for the radix. All I see is 1 if I select decimal for the radix or a 1 in the first bit of F8:0 if I select Binary as a Radix.

Am I mis-understanding something about floating point registers and/or am I making this too dificult?

I think this is the same question you asked in this thread:

http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=22574

You probably want to keep this all as one thread or you will have info scattered all over the place and that's hard to follow.

From your previous thread it sounded like you are doing this in a simulator. I think your simulator is messing with you. All Allen-Bradley floating point elements are 32-bit values. Also, the DIV instruction you posted in the other thread should work correctly. The SLC, PLC5 and CLX platforms all hanlde automatic type promotion to the 'highest level' data type. So, for example, if you divide a float by an integer the integer gets promoted to a float before instruction execution and the result is a float.

Now, in the example you list below, if you divide two integer constants the result will be an integer regardless of the destination data type. The conversion in this case happens after the operation. Try dividing 3 by 2.0 and see what you get. But as I said above your simulator (if it is a simulator) may be giving you incorrect information.

Keith

In addition to that, F8:0 is an ENTIRE FLOATING POINT NUMBER. F8:1 is a COMPLETELY SEPERATE FLOATING POINT NUMBER.