GE Cimplicity 2022 Embedded Graphics & $OBJECT usage

nicherbert

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting, though I have been to this site a few times hunting for some random problem like we all do. I have run into an issue myself. I am starting out now using Cimplicity 2022 and attempting to leverage Classes/Objects along with the Graphic Templates that go along with it. I apologize for the lengthy thread, but the details are what is keeping me from being successful.

The issue I am running into is a scenario that I'm fighting to overcome. We have defined several Classes, some of which leverage embedded (Composite Members) classes within another. Several things I ran into that have been difficult to overcome, and now I'm looking for a good workaround, but each step of the way, I am finding what I think are bugs in Cimplicity, or I don't quite understand how to leverage the tool. I have read the documentation, but as normal, the help files and examples don't go quite far enough to do what should be possible.

First issue I ran into was related to the CIMPLICITY reserved variables. We are using an OPC-UA server and attempting to build the address by assigning parameters to do so. Part of doing this is to leverage the Object instance to make this work. There are 3 variables we are looking at: $ADDRESS, $OBJECT, and $ID. I will be using the following information in my examples to best explain what I am seeing:
  • VALVE Class - this has all the typical parameters, but also has Data Items STS_OPEN, STS_CLOSED, CMD_OPEN, CMD_CLOSED
  • TANK Class - this has all the typical parameters, has it's own Data Items LEVEL and HI_ALARM, but also has composite members INLET and OUTLET that are of type VALVE.
When we create a Tank Object called TANK1, we get the following points created:
  • [PATH].TANK1.LEVEL
  • [PATH].TANK1.HI_ALARM
  • [PATH].TANK1.INLET.STS_OPEN
  • [PATH].TANK1.INLET.STS_CLOSED
  • [PATH].TANK1.INLET.CMD_OPEN
  • [PATH].TANK1.INLET.CMD_CLOSED