Ge Versamax connection

Browdsd

I have a new computer and it doesn't have an ethernet port. I am trying to connect to the Versamax Micro Plus with a type c to ethernet adapter. The ip address and subnet are set correctly, tries to connect but eventually times out. Has anyone else experienced this issue?

If I'm not mistaken, the ethernet port (Port 2) on the VersaMax Micro is actually a serial/ethernet converter, so your connection from the PC to the PLC is USB -> ethernet -> ethernet -> RS485. It's not really a surprise that maintaining a connection is a struggle. You might have better success getting a USB/RS232 converter and connecting to Port 1.

We are using the Versamax Ethernet module. Which was working smoothly until computer change. We have the versamax micro plus ic200udr020-cd, would I have to change the ethernet module to a rs232? I am new to this project. Thank You for your help

It's been several years since I worked with one of those. But I think the ethernet module is Port 2 and Port 1 is still available when you add it. The following is from GFK-1645M, page 117:

Port 1 is a built-in RS-232 serial port with an RJ-45 connector.
A second port can be added to a 40-Point Micro PLC using one of the port Option Modules described in Chapter 14:. If a second port is installed, both ports can be used for programming. Only one port can be used at a time for programming, but both ports can be used for monitoring at the same time.