GE VersaMax Programming Help (Using VersaPro)

Cstro

Lets me first start off and say I'm pretty much a novice at Ladder Logic. I'm self taught what little I know. Now that being said I have a ?

WHAT I'M USING: GE VersaMax (IC200NDD101-FJ) Nano Controller with 6 inputs and 4 outputs.

WHAT I'M TRYING TO DO: I'm testing solenoids for residual magnetism.

MY TEST SETUP: I'm sending a 24 volt, 40 ms pulse to a solenoid. There is a switch attached to my mech that lets me know every time the plunger is energized into the solenoid. When operating properly, The solenoid energizes pulling the plunger into the solenoid and the switch is activated. When the solenoid energy is released the plunger returns and the switch goes back to its normal status. If the plunger sticks in the solenoid do to residual magnetism and doesn't re-activate the switch my program stops.

MY PROBLEM: If the solenoid releases the residual magnetism the program continues to run and I don't know when or if it failed unless I see it stuck.

HELP NEEDED: How can I set up a timer or something of that matter that will stop my program if it sees that my switch is not activated for a certain amount of time.

MY LADDER LOGIC:

Ladder%20Logic.jpg

Thanks for any help, Craig

Last edited:
One way would be to add a TMR enabled by not Q1 (NC) AND not I1 (NC) set to .5 or 1 seconds with output to an internal maybe M101 then add a NC contact of it in series of Rung 1.

I'm sending a 24 volt, 40 ms pulse to a solenoid.
That's not what the program you posted does. It turns on the solenoid 150 time units after the switch closes and once on turns it off 5 time units after the switch opens. That's assuming a switch wired normally open.

How can I set up a timer or something of that matter that will stop my program