Has anyone tinkered with EZPLC devices?

psanchez

I am very new to the whole PLC area and we need a simple for simple tests (connect sensors and other simple devices). Has anyone used EZAutomation EZPLC? It seems like a reasonable price for a simple system (which is what we need). We also want to drive this through a C# DotNet application on a W2K3 server. Has anyone done this? The information that we got back from EZAutomation was a little sparse to say the least.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Paul

I had a demo unit of the EZ-PLC to play with for a while. It is an interesting product, with a lot of nice features, but I finally decided it wasn't right for me.

The software was pretty straightforward and capable of meeting my needs, on both the HMI and ladder logic sides. I did find the multiple combinations of dip switch settings for downloading the logic and HMI configurations excesively complex, and I had problems downloading.

The biggest flaw was the terminal sizes and wiring restrictions for the I/O. Even #16 AWG was too big to comfortably work with. Any kind of industrial application would probably require putting together a wire harness to separate terminal strips, which eliminates much of the charm of the concept. I also felt that the I/O modules were not as robust as those in a conventional PLC, but that was just based on appearance. I didn't really have opportunity to test this on a job site.

Last edited:
Tom Jenkins said:
...I also felt that the I/O modules were not as robust as those in a conventional PLC, but that was just based on appearance...

Last one I've played with had one dead out of the box and one dead after 1000 cycle (relay outpout).

I was also told that there having some issues with them PLC although there HMI is very robust.

I will probably never purchase this stuff but I'm a frequent flyer of there HMIs.

If price is the one factor in this, get something else.

My 2 cents.

A bit more information..