Help picking studio 5000 version

Mueller34

Hey everyone. I'm new to programming and am currently the only one who does any in my workplace. I have access to rs logix 500 pro, and ccw, but we don't have studio 5000. My employer is a little iffy about getting the studio 5000 full edition as I don't need to be writing all new programs for machines, but I do have to do lots of troubleshooting and some adding/modifying. I know from the programmer who did the upgrades to a few of our machines that he used function blocks in the programs. I'm not sure if we would be okay using the standard edition and still be able to make minor modifications to the ladder logic or if I do need the full or pro version to work on those.

Welcome to the forum.

Check with a programmer, is he referring to AOI [add on instructions] for the function blocks, then a standard edition is fine for your case.

But if he is using SFC, ST etc, then you may need at least a full edition.

Regards

Hi and welcome!
I did some programming for air handlers and needed to do a lot of analog scaling. Yes, there's an AOI (I've heard) for scaling in 5000 as opposed to Scale with parameters in 500 however I used the scaling instruction in the FBD platform in 5000 and that was really nice. Using compute instructions in a program needing a lot of scaling makes the ladder pretty clunky.
So if you're doing a lot of scaling I would get the version of 5000 that allows function block diagram. Additionally, some processes require PID control and a lot of the folks on here like the PIDE instruction as opposed to just the PID. PIDE is in the function block diagram version, but not in just ladder diagram. Just my personal preference and I hope this helps.

Hi and welcome!