help with scale and rs485

jbliss15

Hey,

i'm a software engineer, and getting started in PLC programming with phoenix contact / plcnext

i don't know a lot about the wiring aspect of the PLC world.

i'm trying to test out a scale serial communication, its easy with a rs232 to USB adapter, but this project its not possible to connect via usb.

i have a scale with rs232 output, a rs485 converter, and a plcnext rs485 smart module

can someone help me with the wiring and if you know the plc next engineer steps to receive the weight via rs485

i've done other projects with plcnext controls, so i know a bit about getting the modules configured and all that. this is the first time i've had to use serial communication.

there isn't a lot to google with plcnext because its still fairly new and there isn't a lot of content.

scale -> rs232 -> rs485 -> plc

i think the wiring is hooked up right but just to confirm if someone knows for sure. its tx+ tx- rx+ rx-

johnny

oz5HIyfYOnR97fb1a-t7h_yvTX5RYg2iZyuJAAyrgjsrK2x-TN9wHOof-FCn2ZA-MTawKYQ4Q-PzXMPMZzNNhKtFX-raB6PB1gwel1fclizkA2nwZJjURAF6CmuZ7-t1ITmep5-2JlX1ADjRJw4zjP68uoipT5hZiBJ1_gOTGmTQQ0-8tw6XGv6ZCpYm3xqD3gQ_zgWhW98gcGoY1XPRVMOMmRVw6pog32Xsbv1CFagT4vEIr22v26Aj2cZj6yByYveGzxdZoZyhC_1EMVlN4vUt2o35b5fL06Ze7gh_MIZMY0GH_Xa5DWBzIBz1U_wc1CilKiV47jEKdL-EDB6yEZ7jsiS-TlPUGjDITBmdo2WmDNMOCAtRmwLW401ya8C8lAaHavXMR24x8brLSYBHqh1GBbxn7RNWj7l3MXhR0W5qe2ZPaTl2uIT5UonKxdJsusFXdK6D8m25ErvNvrUiJZ0az-i869SzlgaGqYRDsqX39I1sTprQxycw6ofqGpGWEmr5hPfG9WEj3ayqDihmTeuLVbllPD5DEimTfmkAaBPFqNg-a3Clj544FcEeuhTibRyJsMpWQFdby50ZJjXMGc485_QWMAQxdmdSx5C-MY5S0ViObhh53ytjUgItZCxWwv6nPBVJ2aC46HLqaEmfpzpnWmUafqWSACfGIb5UzdsoWKaxGrKekTqfEmNpebkhHRlDTqmhZhuYObUEM9RxfJLdQA=w2240-h1261-no