Help with sending ascii characters

dhrv_prmr

I am new to programming in PLC, i have Allen Bradley SLC 5/03. I tried using AWT inst. with data in ST9:0 file directly but in 3 inst. getting error high out of six. I dont know what is buffer. Do i need to put string in buffer first then to write on channel0.
After toggle this awt inst. gives some random characters on rs232(examined on Hyper Terminal).
Please Guide me from first step what combinations of ascii inst. will send ascii string succesfully.Thank you.

Do I need to put string in buffer first then to write on channel 0?
No, you should put a string in a ST-type file (ST10:0 for example), then trigger a AWT ASCII Write instruction to take the ST string and send it to the SLC ASCII Send buffer (which will automatically try to send your string to another connected device).

See the RSLogix Help file (in your RSLogix software and copied below) for information about how the AWT works. All of your data may not be sent in 1 PLC scan, so your AWT trigger device needs to stay on until the AWT DN bit goes ON.
AWT [ASCII Write]
Rockwell Software
Use the AWT instruction to write characters from a source string to an external device. To repeat the instruction, the rung must go from false-to-true. When using this instruction you can also perform in-line indirection.

Entering Parameters
Channel is the number of the RS-232 port. This must be 0 unless you are using a MicroLogix 1500 LRP Series B, in which case it may be 0 or 1.
Source is the string element you want to write.

Control is the area that stores the control register (required to operate the instruction).

String Length (.LEN) is the number of characters you want to write from the source string (0-82). If you enter a 0, the entire string will be written. This is Word 1 in the control block.