How to Allen Bradley get PLCs onto the corporate network without RS-Linx Gateway?

Dayvieboy

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have been looking to this and thought I'd ask for input from others before I take it in a wrong direction.
The guy who used to set these up has retired and I am not a network expert.

Thank you for any ideas,
Dave

NAT.jpg

1. WHY? Best practice is to keep the PLCs completely Off the corporate network.
2. Get IT involved. You put a bunch of PLC's on a corporate network and they will not be amused.
3. PLC's dont like a chatty network like a corporate lan.
4. It's a bad idea

If instead you are staying within the OT segment and just need secure routing to remote devices, you are going to need hardware and expertise.

What you are describing is exactly what NAT appliances are designed to do. $700 - 1000 per network isn't unreasonable for something with a 24V power supply that mounts on a DIN rail.

If you're on a super-restricted budget but have some networking skills, you could use a $40 travel router running OpenWRT for the same sort of NAT functions. Or put a little extra professionalism into it and buy a case of Ubiquiti Edgerouter X units and install one at each site.

Or, if your budget is just the aggravation of teaching remote users about networking, enable routing in the Windows 10 Registry Editor, open up TCP Port 44818 in the firewall, and teach your users how to enter static routes at the command line. Or, get adventurous and install a software NAT on those Windows PC's.

Last edited: