How to copy a Siemens data type tag to a DWord

Ken Roach

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
This feels like a simple, elementary question, but I am a Siemens novice and know there are experts here.

My S7-1500 project (TIA Portal v17) has an I/O device that uses some PLC Data Types, including one that holds Status Bits. The data type has 32 named BOOLs inside it.

I want to copy those 32 bits into a DWord type Internal Memory tag, for an HMI feature to read bit-by-bit. The HMI is actually the WinCC Unified View of Things webserver feature and I want to create a set of indicator boxes on screen so show the status of each Bit in the Status Bits tag.

What is the correct LAD instruction that will copy the contents of a PLC Data Type tag into a DWord tag ?

Example for 1 bit, repeat as required for all your named status bits. Other options when using non-optimised blocks and the AT instruction also possible.

x0.jpg

Last edited:
I ended up doing 32 rungs (and having to do it twice because I skipped over one in the selector).

The COP instruction does this with no data type dependencies in the Rockwell ControlLogix. I was hoping for a similar way to take the user defined structure that is 32 bits long and copy its values, bit-by-bit, into an atomic 32- bit datatype (a DWord).

Thanks for pointing out I can do it more readably with SCL, like this:

Code:
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X0 := #Status_Structure.Accelerating;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X1 := #Status_Structure.AllowExceedingOfSoftwareLimits;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X2 := #Status_Structure.BreakingResistorOverTempError;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X3 := #Status_Structure.CommsError
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X4 := #Status_Structure.ControlVoltageError;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X5 := #Status_Structure.CurrentLoopError;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X6 := #Status_Structure.Decelerating;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X7 := #Status_Structure.EncoderError;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X8 := #Status_Structure.Error;
#HMI_Status_DWord.%X9 := #Status_Structure.FlashMemoryError;