I NEED HELP! Re: Rockwell/Foxboro

Bakerman

I know this subject isn't largely discussed here. Also, I don't want this to turn into some personal preference flame war, but...

I have a very large decision to make. It basically comes down to Rockwell Automation's ProcessLogix/ControlLogix hybrid system, and a Foxboro I/A system for process control.

I'd like to hear of ANY experiences anyone has had. Good or bad. Period. I'm trying to gather as much information as possible. I'm fairly comfortable with the Rockwell equipment, not specifically ProcessLogix, but everything else. Foxboro I have no personal experience with, but they have a good track record from what I can find.

PLEASE HELP!!! This is a HUGE decision. I'm talking $$$$. And in the future, more $$$$$.

ANY help is greatly appreciated!!!

I am sorry but this decision is on you

You have to know/decide which has the options and expansionability to fit your system now and in the future. We dont know your system.

The only suggestion I can offer is to look at the support options for both compared to your system needs.

There's the problem. I sincerely think that from a Hardware/Software platform, both will serve my needs very well. I personally am more comfortable with Rockwell, but that doesn't mean I can't develop a relationship with Foxboro. As for my technicians, they have some Rockwell experience, but they are mostly accustomed to Bailey.

As for support, I can't see how anyone can POSSIBLY touch Rockwell in this department. I have several, several integrators in the area, several distributors, tons of support through areas such as this forum, etc. Foxboro is, well, very limited.