I/O to binary/bit files for ladder logix

David B

Lifetime Supporting Member
Can anyone tell me why a programmer would move all the inputs and outputs on the PLC to the B3:xx/xx files the first thing in the program and the make all the addresses in the logic B3:xx/xx? The drawings all reference input and output numbers i.e. I:xx/xx but then one must figure out that input in the ladder logic.I cannot see the use in wasting time and processor memory to make the program harder to follow. To make matters worse, I cannot get the version of the program with descriptors to go onlline so I'm left monitoring the operation with a program with no descriptors. I am not a programmer so I may well be missing something. The processor is a Micrologix 1500, using RSLogix 500.
Thank you in advance
David Butler

It's not an unusual practice. Sometimes the program is written before the programmer knows the actual io addresses. Some programmers do it so that if an address needs to be changed he only needs to make one change. I'm not a fan of the practice but I see it often.

In a ControlLogix PLC io updates are asynchronous to the scam so it's done to buffer the I/O.

Thank you for the reply. When using RSLogix 500, is there not a way where you can edit and change all the same bit addresses from just one, some menu item along the lines of "change all"? I come at this from a maintenance standpoint rather than a programmers, and I know that "points" on a card can go bad, usually outputs but an input could go bad I'd say, and one moves the input or output to an unused point. In that case I can see if there is not the above "change all like addresses" I can see where using the binary B3:xx/xx format could be useful. Again thank you.