Internal PLC architecture?

Bobbias

Alright, I haven't been here for a while (co-op ended, I'm back in classes, and I've been preoccupied with a bunch of other stuff), but I've got a really in depth question here.

I've got a tech project that I've got to do for my college program, and even though it's a third year project, and I'm in my second year, I'd like to get a head start on it.

I want to build my own prototype PLC. But before I start randomly selecting a microprocessor, I need to know what sort of requirements I'm looking at. How powerful it really needs to be, and what sort of hardware I might need that I wouldn't know about.

Does anyone have any good resources about actual PLC design?

I've got a tech project that I've got to do for my college program, and even though it's a third year project, and I'm in my second year, I'd like to get a head start on it.
That is good because you are way over your head unless you keep it extremely simple.

I want to build my own prototype PLC.
That is a lot of work. It would be good to make something very simple with just a few I/O.

But before I start randomly selecting a microprocessor, I need to know what sort of requirements I'm looking at.
SIMPLE!!!!!!!

How powerful it really needs to be,
An 8 micro controller will do.
A Parallax Propeller chip would be fun.

and what sort of hardware I might need that I wouldn't know about.
Power Supply, microcontroller and I/O.

Does anyone have any good resources about actual PLC design?
Yes but it isn't public information. Keep it simple. Goto www.parallax.com and look at the Propeller chip. Buy a kit.

What separates PLCs from other controllers is the software and the rugged I/O.

I've heard of the propeller controller. I'm wondering how much harder the multi-core environment would make things. But it's definitely a very capable controller.