LogixPro elevator assistance needed

RWS8086

Hi everyone,

I’m new to PLC programming, this is my first post. I finished TheLearningPit’s elevator exercise #4 a week ago and it worked. Wow, that was a tough nut to crack (it was for me anyway). After I was done impressing myself; I zipped it up, tossed it in a folder, and moved on with my life.

A couple of days ago I decided to compare it with someone else’s and found very few completed examples out there. I did find an excellent one here on this website.

My question is on the elevator car’s reversal. The requirement states:

In our multi floor system, the elevator should continue in it's initial direction of travel, stopping at each intermediate floor which has a request pending for that particular direction, and continue in this same direction until the farthest request for service is reached. At this point the direction of travel should then be reversed if further requests are pending. Any requests associated with this new direction of travel should then be serviced.

Did I complete this or over-engineer the exercise? Please help, I need to know, thanks

Thanks for the feedback. I was concerned when I noticed that my solution didn't look anything like other solutions.

Hi RWS8086 , in a way you are in a unique postion at the moment - you're learning PLC programming and have written a successful program ( Lancie1 said so ) and have gotten hold of other solutions to the same problem . Check first if they work correctly . If so , look at each program and see which is easiest for you to understand . The reason I suggest this is that as a programmer you're not just writing the program to do a job , but also so that it can be understood ( it might even be you in a couple of years time ) . It often happens that the program needs modifications to suit changing circumstances and , if it is easy to understand , then it is usually easier to alter and certainly less time consuming .

Paul