Metric Reporting from RSView32

samit

All,

I am a newbie to RSView32. I am being tasked to generate various reports contaning KPI's like downtime, # boxes produced, start time, downtime per shift etc from RSView32. I know that RSView32 runs on a VB script at the backend. But I don't know much of VBA.

I have in depth knowledge of Excel and SQL but not VBA.

Can you please advise how can I set the reports up (step by step)in the RSView 32 and export them into an excel spreadsheet or an Access Database. I am sure if I am able to set one report up, I can do the others too.

One of the forums suggested that Crystal reports are best way to extract data but I don't know how to set them up either. So please help!!

Any input is appreciated.

Thanks
AS

If you're doing too much scripting/programming you're probably going in the wrong direction.

I don't think RSView 32 supports such report generation. Rockwell does have many different applications - I think "FactoryTalk Metrics" would be the one. Those applications aren't cheap.

You wouldn't export reports into an Excel spreadsheet or Access database, although you might export the data in such format, then generate a report externally.

In general, the strategy would be to get your data into an SQL database, then from there generate a report from it. Access might work, but you won't get much of an automated report from a spreadsheet - it's too "free form". From the SQL database you can use Crystal Reports or any of many other packages. These may be integrated in your HMI/SCADA system or separate. The SQL database is key - don't think that any application can generate a report from a programs "tag database".