Micro800 program structure

CM-MercSol

Hello all,
Just to give you an idea of my background, I'm new to the PLC world with a background in IT and currently pursuing my MSEE. I have supported controls engineers on and off for the past 5 years, so I'm aware of the field but not all the specifics.
Now I'm starting to do controls work using the AB Micro800 series (specifically the 820) and would like to hear some opinions on program structure.
I know that CCW subprograms listed under a device are worked through sequentially and cannot be called.
What are y'alls thoughts/tips/warnings on using user defined functions/user defined function blocks to create a structure akin to a program that utilizes subroutines? From what I can tell, in regards to using CCW, it's either use UDF/UDFB or orchestrate the process sequence with start/stop bits or flags.
It has been a bit confusing trying to use the latter of these two options since I come from the school of C-style programming.
I'm tempted to use ST but I'm trying to learn Ladder decently well since that's what I see used in my area.
Any insight on how others structure medium complexity process automation in CCW would be appreciated.
Thanks!

@CM-MercSol: Welcome to the forum.

To answer the basic question, I think you have grasped the fundamentals: the subprograms give you little control about when each is called*; UDF/UTFB are more akin to classes and OOP.

Also, somewhere in the Siemens website there is a document about how to structure a PLC program in the Siemens TIA Portal environment, and I think some of that could apply to CCW, even though CCW is like Fisher-Price compared to TIA (and TIA is like a camel i.e. a horse designed by committee).

* I think you can put a RETurn instruction at the beginning to skip executing a subprogram's rungs and instructions

... come from the school of C-style programming.