Modbus coil (?) not changing state, CompactLogix L3

schexb

Going to preface this by saying I am a complete modbus newbie, so apologies if my terminology is off...

We have a Prosoft PLX31-EIP-MBTCP modbus module set up to communicate with our CompactLogix PLC (5069-L310ER). There is an external service associated with one of our manufacturing processes that writes a heartbeat to one of the coils on the PLX module, and then reads the same coil. Problem was the heartbeat wasn't.... beating. On a call w/ our IT and the external company's service tech, we confirmed the connection is good, they can see our PLC, etc - but the heartbeat kept failing, and we weren't seeing the bit flip in the PLC. The issue was resolved when we picked a higher numbered coil and it started flipping on and off as expected.

First thing I did was cross reference the PLX tag to see if it was used anywhere else in the PLC, which it wasn't. Soooo questions:

1. I am familiar with messages - is it possible there could be a message somewhere else overwriting this? Could I even - in theory - use a message to overwrite this specific tag?
  2. Regardless of the answer above - is it possible to see message's being written to a PLC without knowing where they are coming from or what they might be writing to?
  3. If it's not a message, where else might make sense to look?

Thanks in advance!

Modbus can't get down to the individual bit level. The smallest increment it can read or write is one byte. If there is another command writing to a bit within the same byte as the heartbeat bit, that command could be overwriting what the heartbeat routine does.That can explain why it got better when you switched to to different address