Modbus

Strickland701

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Modbus and was hoping if anyone had any tips or tricks for better practice on utilizing it. Any info would be appreciated.

I try to teach ModBus, EthernetI/P, ASCII, ect..ect...is just a language. You have to learn the basics. You have input bits, output bits, input words, output words.

When you learn a different language you also have to learn when to ask for a reply or are you making a statement.

Thank of the addresses as spots on a spreadsheet. You want to read from A1 to A12 but you want to write to B13 to B15.

The attached link if for Red Lion's modbus primer.

Pareto principle: in 80% of your Modbus setups, Modbus will just work, and you hardly need to know anything about it, and you will spend 20% of your time making it work; in the remaining 20% of your Modbus setups, the implementations will have inconsistencies and will not work right off, and you will spend 80% of your time on those.

Get a Modbus program e.g. that
  • can run on your PC (Windows, Linux, etc.).
  • can run both Modbus Slave (Server) and Modbus Master (Client)
  • displays the values sent and received "on-the-wire," preferably in hexadecimal
because it is far easier to debug one half of the Modbus implementations you are stuck with at a time. than debugging both at the same time.

Understand the Modbus protocol: navigate to The Modbus Organization and read the Technical Documentation; it is fairly simple.

Always remember that in addresses such as 400001 or 300002, the prefix digits (4 and 3) are not part of the address.

Understand what each bit in a 16-bit integer means, signed and unsigned.

Know how to convert between hexadecimal and decimal representation of 8- and 16-bit values.